Yes, but sometimes it takes the best and most experienced Connecticut restraining order attorneys to get you there. The top Connecticut restraining order lawyers will tell you that a subset of the stalking law says if you are being followed or harassed and you are caused emotional distress, you may be entitled to a restraining order.
A temporary restraining order in Connecticut (also known as an Application for Relief From Abuse) is an order by the court preventing someone from contacting you, going to your home, and assaulting, abusing, threatening, harassing, following, interfering with, or stalking you.
You can get a restraining order against anyone Connecticut considers a family or household member. This means blood relatives, spouses, significant others or roommates. To get a restraining order against someone who is not a family or household member, you need to file for a civil restraining order, which you can more about by clicking here.
First, you have to file a sworn restraining order package in court, explaining to the judge what is happening to you. Then, the judge will decide if you are in immediate danger and need protection in place until the hearing. The judge will schedule your hearing about 2 weeks away. Hiring a CT restraining order is always the best route to do this.
Yes. But this is a new COVID 19 rule in Connecticut courts. In order to limit the number of people in court, you can now send in your application by e-mail or fax and have the judge’s orders sent back to you the same way.
You can file a restraining order on behalf of the minor child, but the judge may want to hear from the child directly in court. If kids are involved, the Department of Children and Families may be knocking at your door as well. Follow this link on how to handle a Connecticut DCF investigation.
At your hearing, you and your top Connecticut restraining order attorney will put together your evidence and present the most persuasive case possible to the judge.
The judge can order that the restraining order be extended for up to a year. You can also return to court at the end of the year and ask that I be extended.
Violation of a restraining order is a Class D felony. It carries up to five years in jail, a $5,000 fine, and probation. Click here to learn more about violation of restraining order arrests.
Protect yourself with the best representation possible. Hire a top restraining order attorney to be by your side. Read from our hundreds of certified Avvo.com reviews. Then call the Mark Sherman Law today.