Contact Us

Case Evaluation
close

Can I Get Arrested for Giving a Teenager a Massage?

Blog
Can I Get Arrested for Giving a Teenager a Massage?
  • An adult giving a massage to a teenager—even your own teenager—is never a good idea.

  • Connecticut police are aggressively snuffing out potential child predators and groomers.
  • Even the most innocent and well-intentioned massages can be misunderstood as criminal conduct.
  • The days of giving parents, stepfathers, nannies, camp counselors and teachers the benefit of the doubt in child massage cases are long gone.
  • If you are being investigated in Connecticut for giving massages to children, call a top Connecticut criminal lawyer before speaking with police or DCF.

Connecticut Child / Teenager Massage Cases Lead to Risk of Injury Arrests

As the best Connecticut criminal defense lawyers frequently see in massage cases, DCF mandated reporters such as teachers, guidance counselors or therapists may report a parent for giving a child or teenager an inappropriate massage. However, as with any game of “telephone,” by the time the massage story gets repeated to the police, it has evolved into a much worse narrative, causing Connecticut police to arrest a parent, teacher or nanny for Risk of Injury under C.G.S. 53-21.

Connecticut Risk of Injury Massage Laws Are Overly Broad

There are two types of Connecticut Risk of Injury charges that apply to massages. The first is “situational” risk under CGS § 53-21(a)(1), which prohibits you from putting a child under 16 at risk of physical or emotional harm. This subsection does not involve accusations of improper sexual contact. It’s a Class C felony punishable by up to 10 years of jail.

The second subsection is much more serious. It’s called Risk of Injury – Contact with Intimate Parts and forbids any contact in the groin, buttocks or breast areas. This applies to adults touching children, and vice versa. It is a Connecticut sex crime and usually considered a Class B felony, punishable by up to 20 years in jail.

Is It Illegal to Massage My Own Child in Connecticut?

Yes, it can be. Especially if you are accused of touching your child in the groin area, breast area, buttocks or inner thigh. As the best Connecticut criminal sex crimes lawyers know, not only can an inappropriate massage you get arrested for Risk of Injury, but also Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree under CGS § 53a-73a.

Don’t Speak to the Police if You’re Accused of Grooming or Illegal Massage of Minors

If you are being arrested or investigated in Connecticut for grooming / risk of injury related to child massages, you need to be very careful about what you say to police. CT risk of injury laws are nuanced. What you may believe to be harmless contact could very well be interpreted as a criminal sex assault. So contact any of the best CT criminal defense law firms before speaking to police. And if police or DCF show up at your door, be polite, decline to be interviewed, and tell them your lawyer will reach out to them on your behalf.

Expect Connecticut DCF Investigations to Piggyback any Connecticut Child Massage Arrest

Almost every Connecticut Risk of Injury arrest is followed by a separate, independent Connecticut Department of Children & Families (DCF) investigation. You can follow this link to learn more about fighting a Connecticut DCF investigation, as it’s invasive, uncomfortable and can go on for months if not defended properly.

Get a Criminal GAL / Guardian Ad Litem Appointed in Your Risk of Injury Case…Immediately

One last point about fighting a Connecticut child grooming / massage case.

As top Connecticut divorce and family lawyers often see, divorcing parents will sometimes make up false molestation / touching claims against each other in a nasty divorce. Just to try and get custody.

One of the best ways to fight false accusations of sexual assault / molestation in a divorce Risk of Injury situation is to ask the criminal court to appoint a neutral attorney to speak solely for the child. This way you can get to the truth about what did or did not happen to the child. It’s a technical motion that needs to be made but it’s a critical one so ask your top CT criminal lawyer attorney who is helping you with your Connecticut risk of injury case.

Call a Connecticut Risk of Injury Criminal Defense Lawyer Today

With so many high profile child abuse and sex assaults in the news (i.e. Olympic doctor Larry Nassar), Connecticut police and prosecutors are putting parents, nannies, camp counselors and teachers on notice that any accusations of improper massages or touching will be investigated.

The Mark Sherman Law Firm’s team of sex crimes / risk of injury defense lawyers will defend you and your reputation from false accusations, and will help get you through a Connecticut Department of Children & Families massage investigation.

You can read reviews from our former clients facing CT Risk of Injury charges on the certified Avvo.com website. Then call us today at (203) 358-4700 to schedule a consultation.

%d bloggers like this: