There has been a surge of sexual assault / rape reports since the #metoo movement started.
False Reports of Rape & Sex Assault in Connecticut
The societal landscape regarding sexual assault and harassment has undergone some major shifts in the past year. The #metoo movement has taken the country by storm while exposing the sexual misdeeds and misconduct of some of America’s most rich and powerful.
Connecticut Investigations & Arrests for Falsely Reporting Incidents Second Degree
However, not everyone is supporting the progressive changes. Instead, many Connecticut special victim unit detectives and prosecutors are becoming hyper vigilant when investigating claims of sexual assault. If a law enforcement official doesn’t believe a complaint, they may turn the investigation on the victim. We have seen some officers turn the tables on possible sexual assault victims without even notifying them. And then make an arrest in Connecticut for false reporting second degree under CGS 53a-180c.
Despite the chilling effect overzealous officers have on sexual assault victims, false report claims are a real threat.
What is Falsely Reporting an Incident Second Degree in Connecticut?
Under C.G.S § 53a-180c, you can be arrested in Connecticut with filing a false report when, knowing the information reported to be false or baseless, you gratuitously report to the police an offense or incident which did not in fact occur.
Should I speak to the cops if I am being investigated for a false report?
No. Speak to a top Connecticut criminal defense attorney first. If you are being investigated for filing a false report, chances are you have already spoken to the cops. Many of the best Connecticut false report attorneys will tell you that speaking to the police without a lawyer by your side is often a bad idea.
How much jail time can I do for a Connecticut charge of false reporting an incident second degree?
Filing a false report is a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
Can I be charged with anything else besides false report under CGS 53a-180c?
A recent, and alarming, trend in Connecticut is trumping up a false report charge into a felony Fabricating Physical Evidence charge under CGS 53a-155. In some situations, the police can charge you with fabricating physical evidence if your statement is included in something like a rape kit administered by hospital staff.
Fabricating Physical evidence is a D felony, which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison. This charge will give the police and prosecutors serious leverage in your false report case.
What’s the Difference between Falsely Reporting & Interfering with an Officer?
Not much, but Connecticut police can charge you with both. Top Connecticut criminal law firms have seen police pile on charges for Interfering with an Officer under C.G.S. § 53a-167a for hindering a police officer in the performance of his duties. This is also a class A misdemeanor.
If you find yourself charged with Fabricating Physical Evidence or Interfering with an Officer, you need to contact a top Connecticut criminal attorney immediately to discuss your options.
What do I do if I am being investigated for filing a false report in Connecticut?
If you are being investigated for filing a false report in Connecticut, the wheels of the criminal justice system are already turning against you. Time is of the essence.
Contact the Mark Sherman Law Firm Today
If you’ve been arrested for Falsely Reporting and Incident / CGS 53a-180c, then contact one of the defense attorneys at Mark Sherman Law today. You can read the Firm’s certified Avvo.com reviews, describing what our clients have to say about working with our firm. Then give us a call before you speak to the police or go to court. We are available 24/7 to take your call at (203) 358-4700.