Contact Us
Case Evaluation
close

    Rowayton DUI Defense Attorney

    • Driving under the influence is a serious crime in Rowayton, CT.
    • Not only will the criminal court be involved, but the Department of Motor Vehicles may suspend your license.
    • The penalties you may face depend on whether this is your first DUI.

    Is Operating Under the Influence a Felony in Rowayton?

    It may be. If this is your first DUI then you will likely be charged with a misdemeanor offense under Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) § 14-277a. If you get arrested a second time within 10 years for OUI you may face more serious felony consequences. These become even worse if you have had three or more DUI’s in the past ten years.

    Should I Refuse the Breathalyzer on Scene?

    Unfortunately, time is of the essence after getting pulled over for DUI. There may not be time to consult a lawyer before you are asked to take a breathalyzer. If you have been arrested or convicted for operating under the influence in the past or if there has been a serious accident you should refuse the breath test. If on the other hand this is your first time being accused of DUI and there has not been a serious accident, it might be beneficial to take the test. To learn more about the breathalyzer’s role in Rowayton DUIs, click here.

    Does It Matter How Old I Am for a DUI?

    The short answer is yes. If you are under 21 years old, Rowayton like the rest of Connecticut takes a zero-tolerance approach and a blood alcohol level above 0.02 is criminalized as opposed to the adult legal limit of 0.08. The courts take underage operating under the influence cases very seriously as well, so a strong defense is of the utmost importance.

    Will I Lose My License for Drunk Driving in Rowayton?

    The Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for license suspension and revocation in Rowayton, Connecticut. After an arrest for DUI, you will likely receive a notice in the mail of a “DMV Per Se Hearing” where the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles will decide whether to suspend your license. To learn more about these administrative hearings, click here.

    What Will Happen If There Was an Accident?

    If you got into a car accident while driving under the influence, there are a couple of important factors to know. What did you hit? Was property damaged? Was anyone injured? Did you stay or leave the scene? If you hit someone else’s car or property it is important to act quick to make sure they are made whole through restitution. If you left the scene, you may be charged with evading responsibility as well under C.G.S. § 14-224, if you are concerned about this charge follow this link to learn more about building your defense.

    Call a Rowayton DUI Defense Lawyer Today

    After a DUI arrest in Rowayton, the first step to a positive resolution should be speaking with a skilled lawyer. What you say and do early on after an arrest can impact the outcome of your case in a big way. On Avvo.com you can read more about what it’s like working with the attorneys at Mark Sherman Law. We are available 24/7 to take your call at (203) 358-4700.