Contact Us
Case Evaluation
close

Wilton Rape Lawyer

Anyone charged with an offense such as rape should act quickly to protect their rights and best interests with the help of a top criminal defense attorney. Once retained, a Wilton rape lawyer could explain the particular charges you are facing, help you construct a strong legal defense, and advocate on your behalf both in and out of court and throughout your entire trial.

How Does Connecticut Define Sexual Assault?

Under Connecticut state law, there are two forms of sexual assault that cover most of the offenses colloquially known as “rape.” According to Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-70, a person may be charged with first-degree sexual assault if they violently force another person to engage in sexual intercourse with them, or if they engage in intercourse with someone who is mentally incapacitated. C.G.S. §53a-71 defines second-degree sexual assault as intercourse which occurs through some form of fraud or abuse of authority, or which involves a person who is physically or mentally impaired.

Is First-Degree Sexual Assault Serious?

First-degree sexual assault may be considered aggravated in nature if, as defined by C.G.S. §53a-70a, it involves the use of a deadly weapon, the threat or commission of serious physical harm, or the perpetrator being helped by two or more other people. Finally, C.G.S. 53a-70b specifically labels physically forced intercourse between two cohabitating or married parties as a form of sexual assault.

All the aforementioned offenses are felonies punishable by anywhere from one to 40 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000 to $15,000, depending on the circumstances. Regardless of how severe the potential penalties a defendant faces are, a qualified Wilton rape attorney could represent their best interests and ensure their rights are upheld.

What Qualifies as Statutory Rape?

No matter what other circumstances may be involved, no minor under the age of 16 may legally consent to sexual intercourse with any legal adult. Anyone who engages in intercourse with a minor who is 13, 14, or 15 years old will be charged with second-degree sexual assault prosecuted as a class B felony, and any intercourse between an adult and a minor 12 years of age or younger is a class A felony first-degree sexual assault offense punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of ten years in prison.

What If We Were Just Talking?

Even if an adult only engages in sexual contact rather than penetrative or non-penetrative intercourse with a minor, they may still be charged with fourth-degree sexual assault and face sanctions commensurate with a class D felony. Since statutory rape is not only a felony offense in all circumstances but is treated even more harshly than equivalent sexual assault committed against an adult, representation from a skilled rape lawyer is a virtual necessity for anyone in Wilton accused of this offense.

Discuss Legal Options with a Wilton Rape Attorney

The consequences of only being accused of rape can alter the course of your entire life, but a conviction increases those consequences tenfold. Not only would you likely be sentenced to prison time and have to pay a significant fine, state requires convicted accused of simple or statutory rape in Connecticut to register as a sex offender once they are released from incarceration.

A Wilton rape lawyer can be your strongest and most important ally when attempting to address and/or contest these kinds of allegations. To see what can be possible in your case, call Mark Sherman Law today to set up a confidential consultation.