Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    New Haven Domestic Violence Lawyer

    New Haven police and prosecutors take domestic violence offenses seriously. If you face charges, do not risk appearing in court without qualified representation. Contact a top New Haven domestic violence lawyer today to begin working towards a positive resolution of your case.

    What is Domestic Violence?

    Certain offenses committed between people involved in a designated relationship, often become regarded as acts of “domestic violence.” Connecticut General Statute § 46b-38a defines domestic violence to include the following acts when they occur between household or family members:

    • An incident causing physical harm or bodily injury
    • An assault
    • An act of threatened violence that generates fear of imminent physical harm
    • Stalking
    • A pattern of threatening

    Typically, verbal arguments or abuse are not sufficient for a domestic violence charge and may not rise to the level unless they involve present danger and likelihood of physical violence.

    Who is Considered a Household or Family Member in New Haven?

    The terms household and family members can often include spouses, former spouses, parents, and children. The terms may also extend to anyone related by blood or marriage, anyone who lives together, couples who parented a child even if they never married or resided together, and couples currently or recently in a dating relationship. A trusted New Haven attorney can help those facing domestic violence charges better understand the legal details.

    What Crimes Are Considered Domestic Violence in New Haven?

    Many different crimes can be treated as family violence, and the severity of the crime and corresponding penalties depend on the circumstances involved. For instance, many domestic violence cases involve charges of assault but the term assault applies to numerous different crimes. Connecticut statutes define three basic versions of assault. Additionally, there are various other versions of the crime involving assaults against individuals of protected classes. Moreover, many sexual crimes are referred to as sexual assault.

    What Are the Penalties for Domestic Violence Crimes in New Haven?

    Third-degree simple assault may occur when someone intentionally injures another, recklessly causes serious injury to another, or injures another with the negligent use of a weapon. This is normally considered a class A misdemeanor. The penalties for this offense include up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.

    First-degree assault carries maximum penalties that may include up to 20 years of imprisonment and a fine as high as $15,000. The potential penalties could increase if the assault causes termination of a pregnancy or involves sexual assault, particularly if a minor is involved. Do not delay in seeking counsel from a New Haven domestic violence attorney.

    Contact a New Haven Domestic Violence Attorney

    Understanding what you are charged with is important. A person who is charged with a domestic violence offense should contact an experienced New Haven domestic violence lawyer as soon as they are arrested, to begin formulated a defense and preserving evidence. Our dedicated attorneys are available to discuss your case at any time and will work with you to protect your rights and work towards a favorable outcome.