What Is The Penalty For Possession Of Marijuana?
Under CGS § 21a-279a, the fine for a first offense of possession of less than one half ounce of marijuana is a $150 fine, and between $200-$500 for any subsequent offense. While the fine amount may not seem like a big deal, paying the fine is considered a guilty plea and will result in a conviction for possession of marijuana on your record. A conviction for a marijuana infraction will remain on your record for up to 7 years in Connecticut. Click here to read more about the consequences for pleading guilty to a marijuana infraction.
Should I Pay The Fine For Possession Of Marijuana?
One of the most common mistakes attorneys see are clients blindly paying a fine for possession of marijuana without realizing paying the fine is the same as pleading guilty in the state of Connecticut. Clients sometimes don’t realize this until they receive notice in the mail that their license is being suspended. If you are subject to, or may be subject in the future, employment background checks, it is in your best interest to fight the ticket to avoid a 7 year conviction on your employment background record.
Can I Reverse A Guilty Plea To Marijuana Infraction?
If you’ve already plead guilty to a possession of marijuana infraction, you may still be able to help keep your employment background check clean. Connecticut law sometimes allows a person to withdraw a previous guilty plea and fight an infraction in court, under appropriate circumstances. Call the attorneys at Mark Sherman Law today to learn how we can help reverse your guilty plea and get your ticket ripped up. Click here for how to do this quickly and cost-effectively.
How Can I Get Rid Of My Marijuana Infraction Without Pleading Guilty?
No matter the circumstance of your ticket, you have the right to plead not guilty and challenge your marijuana infraction to avoid a drug conviction on your employment background check. Pleading not guilty can also help avoid a costly license suspension that would also appear on an employment background check and driving history report—causing insurance rates to skyrocket. Pleading not guilty gives you the chance to challenge your ticket in court, and work out an alternate disposition that would not show up to prospective employers. Call an experienced defense attorney today to learn how you can get rid of your ticket without pleading guilty.
Is It Still A Crime To Possess Marijuana In Connecticut?
Not always. Under Connecticut General Statutes (“CGS”) § 21a-279a, it is a criminal infraction to possess less than one-half ounce of marijuana in the state of Connecticut. While possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana is no longer a crime, a guilty plea to a marijuana infraction will appear on an employment background check for up to 7 years following a conviction. Any guilty plea will also appear on your driving history, which can cause car insurance rates to skyrocket and can stand in the way of employment opportunities.
Contact A Connecticut Criminal Attorney Today
While possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana is an infraction in Connecticut, there are many considerations to make before paying the fine and pleading guilty to CGS § 21a-279a. The attorneys at Mark Sherman Law are available to discuss your options with you 24/7 at (203) 358-4700. Click here to read certified reviews from prior clients.