What is Reckless Endangerment in the First Degree?
First Degree reckless endangerment arrests are codified in Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) § 53a-63, and occur when a person, acting with extreme indifference to human life, recklessly engages in conduct creating a risk of serious physical injury to another person.
Secrets to Getting Your Connecticut Reckless Endangerment Charges Dropped & Dismissed
To avoid going forward in your life with a criminal conviction hanging over your head, any of the best Connecticut reckless endangerment criminal defense attorneys can analyze the evidence in your case, and attempt to get your charges dismissed.
One strategy is to get in front of your court date: meet with the Connecticut prosecutor up front and show you have been rehabilitated, that the conduct was not intentional or reckless, and provide all the reasons why you are not likely to offend again. Use experts and counselors who the prosecutors and judges in that courthouse respect. Give them something to get something. Don’t just retain a typical hired gun expert. A top Connecticut criminal lawyer knows who the best fits are for your individual case and courthouse.
Is Reckless Endangerment a Felony in Connecticut?
No. It’s a Class A misdemeanor, carrying penalties of up to a year in jail, a $2,000 fine, and probation. Along with it comes a permanent criminal record, and if a child is involved or was a witness to the crime, then DCF will become involved and launch an investigation – follow this link on how to fight a Connecticut DCF investigation.
Will My Connecticut Reckless Endangerment Arrest Be Expunged from My Record?
Yes, if it’s dismissed or nolled in criminal court. Click here to learn the difference between nolle and dismissal. Upon dismissal, or thirteen months after a nolle, charges are erased pursuant to C.G.S. § 54-142a. And follow this link to learn more about our nationally known internet scrubbing practice group which helps our former clients get their Connecticut arrests offline and off Google searches.
What is Reckless Endangerment in the Second Degree?
Under C.G.S. § 53a-64, second-degree reckless endangerment charges in Connecticut involve recklessly engaging in conduct creating a risk of physical injury to another person. It’s a Class B misdemeanor, carrying up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and/or a period of probation. Similar to first-degree, conviction of this crime will create a permanent criminal record.
Tie the Prosecutor’s Hands: File a Motion to Suspend the Prosecution of Your Case
Another way to potentially get your charges dropped is to file a motion to suspend the prosecution of your case. This motion is available mostly to people who have never been arrested before and can result in the complete dismissal and expungement of your case.
Contact a Connecticut Reckless Endangerment Attorney Today
Most reckless endangerment charges in Connecticut arise from some form of a mistake or accident. Don’t let your charges turn into convictions. Get your Connecticut reckless endangerment case dismissed, expunged and off the internet. Read from our hundreds of certified Avvo.com reviews. Then call the Mark Sherman Law today at (203) 358-4700.