Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Can I Lose My Job for a Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Arrest?

    • Disorderly conduct is one of the most common domestic violence charges in Connecticut.
    • A disorderly conduct arrest or conviction jeopardize your job, especially if you work for a company.

    • Handling your Disorderly Conduct arrest properly from the beginning can mean getting your charges dismissed and off your record quicker.
    • Contact a top Connecticut Disorderly Conduct attorney today to protect your professional career from your disorderly conduct arrest.

    Will my Connecticut Disorderly Conduct Charge Appear on a Background Check?

    Yes. Any disorderly conduct charge will appear on a background check while the charge is pending. Experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorneys know the quickest way to have charges resolved and removed from your background check. Sometimes this involves preserving crucial evidence from the start of your case. Contact an attorney as soon as possible to learn what you can do to set yourself up for success.

    How Can I get my Disorderly Conduct Charge Dismissed?

    While you always have the right to plead “not guilty” and take your case to trial, there are often quicker options to have your charges dismissed. The use of a court diversionary program such as the Pretrial Accelerated Rehabilitation Program or the Family Violence Education Program may successfully get your charges dismissed and removed from your record sooner—but use of these programs is a privilege not a right. Top attorneys know exactly what a court needs to allow a defendant to use these programs.

    Can I go to Jail for Disorderly Conduct?

    Disorderly conduct is a class C misdemeanor in Connecticut, punishable by 3 months in jail, up to a $500 fine and probation. In some cases, a court may offer a small fine for a guilty plea. Remember, you are pleading guilty to a misdemeanor charge! Speak to a criminal lawyer before accepting any offer or pleading guilty to protect your criminal record. 

    What is Disorderly Conduct in Connecticut?

    Under Connecticut General Statute (“CGS”) § 53a-182, a person is guilty of Disorderly Conduct when they intentionally cause inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly create a risk of inconvenience, annoyance or alarm by:

    (1) engaging in fighting or violence/threatening behavior,

    (2) engaging in offensive or disorderly conduct that annoys or interferes with another person,

    (3) making unreasonable noise,

    (4) disturbing an assembly of people,

    (5) obstructing traffic, or

    (6) trespassing to spy on others when they have a reasonable expectation of privacy

    Can You Be Charged with Disorderly Conduct in Your Own Home?

     Yes! People often fail to realize that you can be arrested for disorderly conduct, even if the conduct occurred in your own home. When disorderly conduct arrests occur with family members, they are treated as domestic violence arrests in Connecticut courts. Click here to read more about defending your disorderly conduct domestic violence arrest.

    Can I Go Home After My Disorderly Conduct Arrest? 

    The court will enter a protective order against you following any domestic violence arrest. There are three levels of protective order that can be entered—two of which bar you from returning to your home or even contacting the victim. On your first court date you will be interviewed by a family relations officer who will make a protective order recommendation to the Court. Don’t go into this interview alone or without first speaking to an attorney. Read more about Connecticut protective orders here.

    Contact a top Connecticut Defense Attorney Today

    Disorderly conduct arrests are serious and can result in permanent criminal convictions harmful to professional background checks. If you’re arrested for Disorderly Conduct, be sure to contact the attorneys at Mark Sherman Law to discuss your case today. You can see hundreds of reviews from past clients at and call (203) 358-4700.