Connecticut Drug Possession Lawyer
Have you been arrested for possessing illegal drugs? Contact a top Connecticut Drug Possession Lawyer today to start building a credible defense. With the help of an experienced attorney, you could fight for a positive resolution of your charges.
What are the Penalties for Illegal Marijuana Possession in CT?
Now that marijuana is legal to possess by those 21 years old and over, the most common penalties apply to those under the age of 21 in possession of any amount of marijuana, or for those 21 and over in possession of more than an ounce and a half non-securely, or over five ounces in a locked compartment.
Most of the time, you will be issued a ticket which could range from $50 to $500 dollars depending on your age, the amount of marijuana found in your possession, and any previous offenses on your record. Subsequent offenses can result in misdemeanor arrests for illegal possession of marijuana. A person under 18 will not be arrested for marijuana possession but will instead be referred to the youth services bureau or be adjudicated delinquent, also dependent upon the amount of marijuana possessed.
What are the Penalties for Narcotics Possession?
If you are found in possession of narcotics, as defined by C.G.S. §21a-240, like crack or cocaine, you can be charged with an unclassified felony and face up to 7 years in prison, and / or a fine up to $50,000.00 and probation for your first offense. For your second offense you may face up to 15 years in prison, and / or a fine of up to $100,000.00 and probation. Any subsequent offenses subject you to up to 15 years in prison and / or a fine of up to $250,000.00 and probation.
What are the Penalties for Hallucinogen Possession?
If you are found in possession of hallucinogens as defined by C.G.S. §21a-240 like LSD, PCP, MDMA, etc. you face up to 5 years in prison, and / or a fine of up to $2,000.00 and probation for your first offense and a term o cup to 10 years in prison and / or a $5,000.00 fine and probation.
Controlled Substance Possession Near Schools
If you are alleged to have possessed narcotics, hallucinogens, or over 4 ounces of marijuana within 1,500 feet of a public or private elementary or secondary school you will likely face a felony charge under C.G.S. §21a-279(d). This charge carries with it a mandatory 2-year prison term that cannot be suspended in addition to other potential penalties.
Can I get my Charges Dismissed?
You may be eligible for the Drug Education and Community Service Program in Connecticut if you are charged with drug possession under C.G.S. §21a-279. A top Connecticut lawyer will tell you that if you are granted this diversionary program it can trigger the suspension of your drug possession case’s prosecution, and if you complete all of the program’s requirements then your charges will be dismissed in their entirety.
Talk to a Connecticut Drug Possession Attorney Today
Drug possession offenses of any nature can have serious consequences. Do not attempt to fight charges alone. If you have been arrested for controlled substances, contact an experienced Connecticut drug possession attorney at Mark Sherman Law today to help determine the legal defense strategies available to you.