Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Greenwich Child Endangerment Penalties

    In Greenwich, child endangerment penalties can extend beyond those enforced in the event of a conviction. Guidance from a qualified defense attorney can be vital to potentially minimizing the sanctions that your particular case could result in.

    Is Child Endangerment Ever Considered a Misdemeanor?

    Rather than defining “child endangerment” as a distinct criminal offense, Connecticut law enforcement and court authorities typically prosecute alleged behavior that puts children at risk of serious physical and/or moral harm under either Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §§53-21 or 53-21a. There are generally only two circumstances under which child endangerment may be prosecuted as a misdemeanor offense, both of which are addressed under the latter statute.

    Specifically, it is a class A misdemeanor for any parent, guardian, or person with control or supervision of a child under 12 to knowingly fail to report the disappearance of their child—defined as them not knowing their child’s location and having no contact with them for 24 hours or more—to law enforcement, or to leave that child in a place of public accommodation or inside a motor vehicle unsupervised for a long enough time that it puts the child’s health and wellbeing at risk. Potential penalties upon conviction for these forms of child endangerment in Greenwich may include 12 months of imprisonment and/or a $2,000 maximum fine.

    Felony-Level Consequences for Child Endangerment Convictions

    Anyone who leaves a child under 12 unsupervised in a public place of accommodation with a license to sell alcoholic beverages has committed a class D felony under C.G.S. §53-21a. Here, punishment upon conviction may include up to five years of imprisonment plus $5,000 in fines. Moreover, leaving a child under 12 in a motor vehicle or place of accommodation between 8PM and 6AM is a class C felony punishable by between one and ten years’ imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines. Under C.G.S. §53-21, anyone who willfully puts a child under 16 in a situation that endangers their “life and limb” or is likely to impair their health or morals has also committed a class C felony.

    The most serious form of child endangerment defined in the Connecticut Penal Code entails unlawful sexual contact with a child under 16, which is considered a Class B felony. The mandatory minimum prison sentence upon conviction for this child endangerment offense in Greenwich could be between one and twenty years, and may carry with it fines of up to $15,000.

    Talk to a Greenwich Attorney About Minimizing Child Endangerment Penalties

    State authorities take any allegation of child endangerment very seriously. If you are dealing with accusations of this nature, seeking qualified legal representation as soon as possible could be vital to protecting your entire family’s best interests.

    Talking to Mark Sherman Law about Greenwich child endangerment penalties could put you on the right track for achieving the best possible resolution to your unique circumstances. Click here to read our over 300 certified client reviews on, and call today to schedule your confidential consultation.