Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    New Haven Strangulation Lawyer

    Unlike simple assault, strangulation charges can result in severe penalties could lead to significant personal and professional repercussions, even for a first-time conviction. Therefore, you should not try to handle a charge like this without help from a New Haven strangulation lawyer with a track record of positive results in cases like yours. Reach out to our firm to speak with an experienced assault attorney today.

    Is Strangulation Ever a Misdemeanor Offense?

    The Connecticut General Statutes define three “degrees” of strangulation. Each degree of these offenses involves someone restricting another person’s blood circulation and ability to breathe by restraining them around the throat or neck and obstructing their mouth or nose. Although an accused person cannot be convicted of more than one offense at a time, prosecutors can use information from an incident to pursue a defendant’s conviction on charges of strangulation, assault, or unlawful restraint.

    If someone inadvertently strangles or suffocates another person by restraining them or preventing them from breathing, they may be charged with third-degree strangulation or suffocation under Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-64cc. As a class A misdemeanor, this offense carries a maximum sentence of one year in jail and $2,000 in fines. An attorney in New Haven can explain these chargers further during a private consultation.

    What Are Felony Strangulation Charges in New Haven?

    Anyone who intentionally blocks someone else’s breathing or blood flow has committed strangulation in the second degree. According to C.G.S. §53a-64bb, a person convicted of second-degree strangulation could face a class D felony, which carries up to five years imprisonment and a $5,000 maximum fine.

    Likewise, a person who deliberately suffocates or strangles another person after being convicted of second-degree strangulation in the past, causes physical injury to someone by choking them, or uses any dangerous instrument while committing second-degree strangulation may face first-degree charges under C.G.S. §53a-64aa.

    A conviction for this class C felony offense could result in a maximum prison sentence of ten years, a mandatory one-year term, and up to $10,000 in fines. Therefore, support from a local lawyer can be especially crucial to handling this type of strangulation charge.

    What are the Consequences of Domestic Violence Strangulation?

    Beyond criminal penalties, a person accused of strangling a family or household member in New Haven may face additional consequences by virtue of their offense being considered “family violence.” The arraignment process and court proceedings are generally expedited for people facing charges of domestic violence strangulation.

    Likewise, these alleged offenders often face the imposition of a protective order against them. Depending on the circumstances, this order may forbid all contact between a defendant and victim, prohibit them from sharing the same home or workspace, or bar them from engaging in further violence or harassment. A dedicated lawyer can work to contest domestic violence allegations and will provide vital assistance throughout court proceedings.

    Speak with a New Haven Strangulation Attorney Today

    Allegations that you inadvertently or deliberately strangled another person may be difficult to contest in court and can be even more challenging to overcome if they end with a criminal conviction. However, guidance from a New Haven strangulation lawyer could be vital to contesting standard strangulation charges or charges classified as domestic violence.

    Find out why we have a five-star rating on Avvo today by contacting Mark Sherman Law and scheduling your initial consolation.