Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Norwalk Domestic Violence Penalties

    Penalties for family violence crimes cover a large range. Some offenses may only result in a few months of incarceration or a fine of less than $1,000, while others may carry penalties that include 20 or more years in prison and fine of up to $20,000.

    In addition, one unique aspect of Norwalk domestic violence penalties is that they may include consequences such as intervention by the Department of Children and Families or reporting requirements with a nationwide reach. For more information on these consequences, speak with a distinguished domestic violence lawyer.

    How are Family Violence Cases Treated?

    In Connecticut, most crimes fall into one of two categories — felonies or misdemeanors. Felonies include the more serious crimes, but even most misdemeanors include significant incarceration as a potential penalty. Courts often have the discretion to impose a prison sentence, a fine or both. Domestic violence crimes in Norwalk are classified as to their severity, and different degrees of penalties are imposed for each class.

    Maximum Penalties for Felonies

    Felony offenses in Connecticut are defined as Class A, B, C or D, with Class A being the most severe. Section 53a-41 of the state criminal code sets forth the following maximum fines for felony offenses:

    • Class A felony can lead to ten to 25 years in jail
    • Class A felony for the aggravated sexual assault with a minor can lead to 25-50 years of jail time and a fine of $20,000
    • Class B felony can result in up to $15,000 and from one to 20 years in jail
    • Class C felony can lead to $10,000 and between one to ten years of jail time
    • Class D felony’s associated penalties include potential fines of up to $5,000 and five years in jail

    In some cases, the law specifies that a court may not reduce or suspend an imprisonment sentence, or that a minimum period of incarceration applies.

    Maximum Penalties for Misdemeanors

    Just as with felonies, most misdemeanors are classified in order from most to least serious. The maximum fines and sentences of imprisonment for these offenses are listed in Section 53a-42 of the Connecticut criminal code as follows:

    • Class A misdemeanor penalties are $2,000 worth of fines and up to one year in jail
    • Class B misdemeanor could warrant $1,000 worth of fines and up to six months in jail
    • Class C misdemeanor can lead to consequences of up to $500 and three months of jail time
    • Class D misdemeanor penalties are $250 in fines and one month of jail time

    Classifying Various Domestic Violence Crimes

    Domestic violence is not a single crime but actually a wide variety of violent crimes that involve those in a family or household or in a dating relationship. While the term can include a multitude of offenses, some of the more common are listed below, along with their classification.

    First-degree threatening charges can be classified as a Class C or D felony offense depending on the location the alleged incident has taken place. Assault that causes the termination of a pregnancy is considered a class A felony offense. A first-degree assault is considered a Class B felony and a second-degree offense could be classified as a Class C or D felony depending on the severity of the injury associated.

    Common Class D Felony Offenses:

    • Harassment in the First Degree
    • Stalking in the First Degree
    • Violation of a criminal protective order or civil restraining order

    Norwalk domestic violence penalties for misdemeanor offenses include:

    • Threatening in the Second Degree – Class D felony or Class A misdemeanor (depending on location)
    • Assault in the Third Degree – Class A misdemeanor
    • Harassment in the Second Degree – Class C misdemeanor
    • Stalking in the Second Degree – Class A misdemeanor
    • Stalking in the Third Degree and Electronic Stalking – Class B misdemeanor
    • Reckless endangerment in the first degree – Class A misdemeanor
    • Reckless endangerment in the second degree – Class B misdemeanor

    Call an Attorney for More Information About Norwalk Domestic Violence Consequences

    The Connecticut criminal statutes are complex and lengthy, so the listing above is a starting guideline. For more detailed information, it is best to speak with an attorney with experience with Norwalk domestic violence penalties who understands how the courts have applied various laws to different sets of circumstances. Call Mark Sherman Law today to learn more.