Norwalk Assault Lawyer
Have you been arrested for Assault in Norwalk, Connecticut? Contact a top Norwalk Assault lawyer today to learn about your options and begin working towards a resolution.
What is the Definition of Assault in Norwalk?
Assault includes a variety of conduct and charges range from a Class B felony to a Class A misdemeanor according to the severity of the offense, the persons who were the targets of the assault, and whether physical injury occurred. A Norwalk assault attorney could fully explain the elements of each level and how they apply to your situation.
What is First-Degree Assault and What are the Potential Penalties?
Connecticut General Statutes (“C.G.S.”) § 53a-59, defines assault in the first degree as an individual intentionally causing serious bodily harm to others under certain circumstances. For instance, intentionally causing serious physical injury to others with a deadly weapon is first-degree assault, as is recklessly creating a risk of death to others that results in severe bodily harm.
Assault in the first degree is a B Felony and conviction could result in up to 20 years in prison, up to $15,000.00 in fines, and / or up to 5 years probation. Additionally, depending on who the victim is, either 5 or 10 years of that sentence can be mandatory, meaning it cannot be suspended or reduced.
What is Second-Degree Assault and What are the Potential Penalties?
Second-degree assault under C.G.S. § 53a-60 occurs when individuals intentionally or recklessly cause others serious physical injuries with a deadly weapon other than a firearm or deliberately administer a drug or controlled substance to others without their consent.
Depending on the target, assault in the second degree could be a Class D or Class C felony. A Class D felony carries with it up to 10 years in jail, up to a $10,000.00 fine, and/or up to 3 years probation. A Class C felony carries with it the potential for up to 5 years in jail, up to a $5,000.00 fine, and/or up to 3 years probation. A Norwalk attorney can help people facing assault charges understand what they could be facing and the potential defenses.
What is Third-Degree Assault and What are the Potential Penalties?
The least severe form of assault is third-degree assault (C.G.S. §53a-61). Third-degree assault occurs when persons intentionally cause bodily injury, recklessly cause serious bodily injury, or negligently cause physical harm to others using a dangerous instrument or deadly weapon. This is a Class A Misdemeanor , which carries the potential for up to one year in jail, up to a $2,000.00 fine, and/or up to 2 years probation. Depending on the circumstances, one year of the jail time could be mandatory.
Other Assault Offenses in Norwalk
As a Norwalk assault attorney can attest, certain factors can make an assault charge and the accompanying penalties more serious. For instance, it is a more serious assault offense to commit assault concerning the following persons:
- Elderly, blind, or disabled individuals
- Pregnant women
- Intellectually disabled persons
- Employees of the Department of Corrections
Additionally, Connecticut law establishes distinct assault offenses if individuals carry them out using a firearm or a motor vehicle. As these offenses all may carry the potential of heightened penalties.
Speak with a Norwalk Assault Attorney for Legal Advice
If you are facing assault charges, contact a skilled Norwalk assault lawyer who can advocate on your behalf and work toward the best resolution possible. Call an attorney at Mark Sherman Law today to learn more.