Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Protective Order Arrests in Norwalk

    Often, a protective order is issued after an arrest for domestic violence. Considering the serious penalties that may be imposed in the event of a violation, it is best to consult with a Norwalk protective order arrest lawyer if you are facing criminal charges arising from a currently enforceable restraining order.

    What Happens When Someone Disobeys a Norwalk Protective Order?

    The legal outcomes associated with disobedience of a protective order are considerable, which is why an individual arrested on such charges should seek help from a Norwalk attorney without delay. There is a considerable laundry list of provisions that can be included in a Norwalk protective order, some of which can be confusing to completely understand. When someone disobeys any of these provisions in the absence of modification or the end of the protective order, they may be charged with having committed a felony.

    What Are the Penalties Of A Protective Order Violation Conviction?

    When someone is arrested for having allegedly violated the terms of their protective order, a court date will be set for them to appear before a judge who will review the charges against them. The assistance of a competent Norwalk protective order arrest attorney can be of immeasurable benefit during this process. An attorney could collect an array of documentation, information, and supporting physical evidence that could put into question the alleged violation or otherwise impact the judge’s final decision.

    Can I Go to Jail for Violating a Protective Order?

    There are two types of felonies that someone can be charged with if they disobey and are arrested for violating a protective order, per General Statutes of Connecticut § 53a-223. A class D felony is the charge reserved for many protective order violations, punishable by a financial penalty no greater than $5,000, and a jail sentence of up to five years.

    In cases of more extreme violations, such as when the offender harms the protected party or commits another grave breach of the existing order, the charge can be elevated to a Class C felony. In Connecticut, the law punishes Class C felonies with anywhere from 12 months to a decade behind bars. The maximum fine amount for a Class C felony conviction is double that of a Class D felony conviction. In addition to jail time and considerable fines, disobeying a protective order will also result in a person being listed in the country-wide police database, which can make movement within or across state borders considerably more difficult.

    If a favorable verdict is reached, it may be possible to file a request to get the protective order modified. Since the well-being of the protected party will be of foremost concern to the court, a request for modification entered by the restraining party will require considerable proof to show the judge that such a change is warranted. To learn more about modifying protective orders in Connecticut, click here.

    Ask a Norwalk Protective Order Arrest Attorney About Your Charges

    If you require assistance fighting back against a protective order or have been charged with an alleged violation but do not know where to start, a protective order lawyer could provide a confidential evaluation of your case and options. You can read what clients have to say about working with our firm through our reviews. To schedule your consultation, call our office and ask to speak with a Norwalk protective order arrest attorney.