Stamford Harassment Lawyer
Securing representation from a Stamford harassment lawyer should be your first priority if you recently were arrested based on allegations of harassment. No matter how severe your charges are, a top criminal defense attorney can work tirelessly to defend your rights and pursue a positive outcome to your case.
When is Harassment as a Misdemeanor Offense?
In most cases, the criminal offense of harassment is charged and prosecuted as harassment in the second degree. According to Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-183, this offense may include any of the following actions:
- Using indecent language over the telephone to annoy or alarm another person
- Intentionally communicating via physical or electronic written communication in a way that annoys or alarms another person
- Contacting someone via telephone with the intent of annoying or alarming them, even if that person does not engage in a conversation
This offense is a C misdemeanor, and conviction may lead to penalties that include a $500 fine and jail time of up to three months. Courts may additionally require psychiatric evaluation and counseling for a convicted party. However, a Stamford harassment attorney may be able to negotiate for less severe penalties if a second-degree harassment charge is the first criminal offense a defendant has ever committed, in some cases this can even mean avoiding a conviction altogether.
When Could Harassment Be Prosecuted as a Felony?
C.G.S. §53a-182b defines a second, more severe form of harassment that is prosecuted as a felony. Under this statute, harassment in the first degree involves a person threatening to injure or kill someone else via any form of verbal or written communication, including telephone calls, physical mail, emails, and other communication over computer networks. This class D felony carries a maximum penalty of 1-5 years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. Felony records can create difficulties when it comes to securing jobs, housing, or even financing so it is crucial for you to mount a strong dedicated defense to protect your future.
What Warrants a First-Degree Harassment Charge?
In order to be charged with first-degree harassment in Connecticut, a person must also have been previously convicted of a separate felony offense. It should be noted that C.G.S. §53a-182b names certain felony offenses—such as larceny and promotion of prostitution—as exceptions to this requirement, meaning that they would not constitute serious felony offenses that could justify a later charge of first-degree harassment. A Stamford harassment defense lawyer can help analyze your record to see if your criminal history truly warrants a first-degree charge.
Talk to a Stamford Harassment Attorney Today
Instead of taking your case into your own hands, consider seeking help from a Stamford harassment lawyer who has dealt with these types of cases before and knows how to optimally handle yours. Read what our past clients have to say about working with us at avvo.com, and then call 203-358-4700 to schedule an initial consultation with a legal professional by calling Mark Sherman Law today.