Contact Us

Case Evaluation
close

Can I Get My Old Marijuana Possession Conviction Expunged in Connecticut?

Blog
Can I Get My Old Marijuana Possession Conviction Expunged in Connecticut?
  • In August 2019, New York State revamped its marijuana possession laws.

  • Marijuana possession under 2 ounces is no longer a crime in the State of New York.
  • Same in Connecticut (for possession under 1/2 ounce).
  • Possession of Marijuana is still considered a violation, but not a crime.
  • Even better, years old Connecticut marijuana possession criminal convictions can now be expunged under the new law.
  • While CT doesn’t have a statute allowing you to expunge old marijuana convictions, Connecticut courts are regularly granting motions to vacate old marijuana convictions.
  • So if you’d like to expunge your prior Connecticut marijuana possession conviction, contact a top Connecticut criminal drug lawyer today.

How Do I Get My Connecticut or New York Marijuana Conviction Expunged?

Either by statute or court process. In Connecticut, you still need to hire any of the best Connecticut drug lawyers and attorneys who will know how to file pleadings to vacate your conviction and get it expunged and dismissed. New York has a statute that entitles old conviction for possessing low amounts of pot / marijuana. This is huge—people with criminal records can now have a clean record.

What Does It Mean to Have a Criminal Conviction Expunged in Connecticut?

When a conviction is expunged, this means it no longer shows up on your record in any private sector background check. However, it will usually always show up in a public sector, governmental background check. This means that if a Connecticut or New York felony or misdemeanor marijuana possession conviction is on your record, you may be eligible to have it expunged under the new marijuana laws.

What is “Decriminalization” of Marijuana?

Marijuana possession used to be a misdemeanor criminal charge in CT and NY. Now it’s non-criminal violation if you’re in possession of less than 2 ounces of marijuana in the State of New York. Police can issue summonses to those found to be in possession, but, technically, no arrests can be made solely on possession of less than 2 ounces of marijuana. (Note that police can you search you though).

What is the Penalty for Possession of Marijuana in CT and NY?

For a first guilty plea in Connecticut for possession of less than ½ ounce of marijuana it’s a small fine. In NY, for less than 2 ounces of marijuana, the fine is capped at $200. For less than 1 ounce in NY, the fine is capped at $50. You can click here for more on fighting Connecticut marijuana possession charges and tickets.

Contact a Top Connecticut Marijuana Lawyer Today

If you’re curious about Connecticut expungement laws or New York’s new marijuana pot laws, or are interested in learning more about fighting marijuana charges, contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Mark Sherman today. You can read the Firm’s Avvo.com certified reviews describing what our past clients have to say about working with our firm. Give us a call today at 203-358-4700 to get started. 

%d bloggers like this: