Marijuana is Still Against the Law in Connecticut
Connecticut is late to the legalization of marijuana conversation. Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey and Maine are all way ahead of Connecticut in relaxing its marijuana laws.
As of this blog post, possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana pot is no longer a criminal misdemeanor under C.G.S. 21a-279a. Instead, it’s a criminal violation punishable by a maximum $150 fine and no jail time or probation.
Marijuana Paraphernalia is also Still Against the Law in Connecticut
As any of the best Connecticut marijuana drug criminal lawyers can explain, possession of drug paraphernalia is also still against the law in Connecticut, although, like marijuana possession, it is no longer a misdemeanor. It is a criminal infraction.
Will a Connecticut CT Marijuana Possession Guilty Plea by Mail Show Up on my Record?
A marijuana possession guilty plea by mail in Connecticut shows up on your record, or your child’s record for 7 years! That means it can show up on all background checks of you or your child’s driving history with DMV, where violations and infractions are publicly available.
A marijuana paraphernalia guilty plea by mail is an infraction (not a “violation” which will stay on your record for 3 years).
What is Drug Paraphernalia in Connecticut?
It can be anything used to store, conceal, pack, inhale or contain less than a half-ounce of paraphernalia. This will get you a ticket for possession of drug paraphernalia under C.G.S. § 21a-267(d).
If these materials are used to conceal, pack, store or contain more than 1/2 ounce of marijuana in Connecticut, or any other type of illegal drugs, then you can be arrested in Connecticut for the misdemeanor drug paraphernalia charge under CGS 21a-267(a).
Can My Connecticut Gun Pistol Permit Get Taken Away for a Marijuana Possession Charge?
Yes. Top Connecticut criminal pot and weed lawyers are seeing pistol and gun permits being automatically revoked if you plead guilty to marijuana possession, regardless of whether you plead guilty by mail or guilty in court. You can lose your CT gun permit even if it’s just the violation / infraction marijuana-related charges.
(In many instances, you can also be penalized with a suspension of your Connecticut driver’s license…of course the cops didn’t tell you that either when they told you to send in the ticket and just pay the fine!)
How to Get Your CT Weed / Marijuana Possession Ticket Dismissed
I’ve written a lot about getting your Connecticut marijuana / weed charges dropped and dismissed. You can click here to learn more about specific marijuana defense strategies and how the Mark Sherman Law Firm gets marijuana tickets ripped up.
Contact a Connecticut Marijuana Possession / Drug Lawyer at Mark Sherman Law
So if you’ve mistakenly sent in your Connecticut marijuana ticket guilty plea in by mail and want to reverse it, or if you want to learn how you can get your Connecticut marijuana or paraphernalia dismissed, contact a Connecticut drug lawyer at Mark Sherman Law. Check out reviews from former clients (and their parents) who got marijuana tickets in Connecticut and worked with our firm. Then call us to discuss your case. We’re available 24/7 at (203) 358-4700.