Contact Us

Case Evaluation
close

What is Statutory Rape in Connecticut?

Blog
What is Statutory Rape in Connecticut?
  • The age of sexual consent in Connecticut is 16 years old, with a 3-year grace window.

  • If you have sex with someone in Connecticut who is impaired by alcohol, marijuana or drugs, you could be arrested for statutory rape.
  • A statutory rape conviction carries a mandatory minimum 9 month jail sentence.
  • A high school teacher student sexual relationship is also considered statutory rape.
  • If you’re being investigated for statutory rape in Connecticut, call a top Connecticut sex crimes attorney lawyer today.

What is the Definition of Statutory Rape in Connecticut?

At its most basic form, statutory rape is sexual contact or intercourse with someone who is under the age of consent in Connecticut, or who cannot consent to sexual contact because they are drunk or because of the relationship (student / teacher or therapist / patient) between the otherwise willing participants.

What is the Age of Consent in Connecticut?

As the best Connecticut statutory rape criminal lawyers and attorneys can explain, anyone under the age of 16 years old is deemed incapable of giving consent to sexual contact or intercourse under Connecticut Law. This means that even if the acts or relationship appear to be consensual and both parties say yes to the sexual relationship, if one person is under 16, then they cannot legally consent and a crime has been committed.

What are the Kinds of Statutory Rape?

Second degree sexual assault charges in Connecticut occur when an individual has sexual intercourse with another person who is over thirteen but under sixteen and the actor is more than three years older than the other person. That means that a 14-year-old having sex with an 18-year-old is a crime under C.G.S. § 53a-71(a)(1).

Sexual Assault Second Degree Charges in Connecticut

Second degree sex assault is a Class B felony if the victim is under 13 years old. This means an accused person can face up to 20 years in jail. Of those 20 years, nine months are mandatory, meaning they cannot be suspended. In addition, a Class B felony carries the risk of a fine of up to $15,000.

Will I be Put on the Sex Offender Registry for a Connecticut Statutory Rape Conviction?

Yes. If you are convicted of statutory rape, either after trial or by pleading guilty, you must register your name, identifying factors, criminal history record, home address and other information with the State of Connecticut. This information is public, and will impact your ability to work and rent an apartment. A top Connecticut statutory rape lawyer can try to negotiate a deal for you to avoid this registration that can impact your life for years to come.

What Kinds of Acts Constitute Second Degree Sex Assault?

Vaginal sex, anal sex, and oral sex fall under the category of second-degree sex assault. Penetration, however slight, is sufficient to be intercourse.

What Kinds of Conduct Constitute Fourth Degree Sex Assault?

Fourth degree sex assault does not require penetration, just sexual contact. Sexual contact is any physical contact with the intimate parts of a person for the purpose of sexual gratification.

Contact the Mark Sherman Law Firm Today

If you find yourself facing false accusations of statutory rape in Connecticut, it is important to contact a lawyer who can help preserve evidence, craft a defense, and protect you every step of the way. You can read what past clients have to say about working with the Law Offices of Mark Sherman and call today at 203-358-4700 to set up a consultation.

%d bloggers like this: