Contact Us
Case Evaluation
close

    Connecticut Statutory Rape Lawyer

    • Under Connecticut state law, the age of consent is 16 years old.
    • You can be arrested for felony sex assault for having intercourse with someone under 16.
    • A conviction for Connecticut Sexual Assault 2nd Degree / § 53a-71 can come with mandatory jail time.

    • If you’re being investigated or have been arrested for Sexual Assault 2nd Degree or another sex crime, call a top Connecticut statutory rape defense lawyer.

    What is the Age for Statutory Rape in Connecticut? 

    In Connecticut, the age of consent under state law is 16 years old. If you’re accused of engaging in sexual intercourse with someone under 16 years old, and you’re at least three years older than him/her, you can be charged with statutory rape / Sexual Assault in the Second Degree under C.G.S. § 53a-71.  If you’re accused of engaging in sexual intercourse with someone under 13 years old, and you’re more than two years older than him/her, you can be charged with Sexual Assault in the First Degree under C.G.S. § 53a-70.

    What is Statutory Rape in Connecticut?

    Statutory rape is better known by Connecticut defense lawyers as Sexual Assault in the Second Degree / § 53a-71. While there are many ways that you can be charged with statutory rape in Connecticut, experienced criminal defense firms often see it charged when someone is accused of engaging in sexual intercourse with someone at least 13 but under 16 years old.

    Is Statutory Rape a Felony in Connecticut? 

    Yes.  Statutory rape / § 53a-71 can be a Class C or Class B felony. If you’re accused of having sexual intercourse with someone at least 13 but under the age of 16, then it’s a Class B Felony.

    Will I Go To Jail If I’m Charged With Statutory Rape in Connecticut? 

    All Connecticut sexual assault charges in Connecticut carry potential jail time.  If you’re convicted of § 53a-71 and the allegations involve intercourse with someone under 16 years of age, then you will face a mandatory nine months in jail, which cannot be suspended or reduced by the judge.

    What is “Consent” in a Connecticut Statutory Rape Case?

    If you’re charged with Sexual Assault in the 2nd Degree/statutory rape under the section prohibiting sexual intercourse with someone at least 13 but under the age of 16, then “consent” is no longer talking about forced or voluntary actions. Instead, Connecticut law says that someone under 16 years of age is legally incapable of consenting to sexual intercourse. In other words, it doesn’t matter if it was technically voluntary – the law still considers it to be a serious felony.

    Contact an Experienced Connecticut Statutory Rape Defense Attorney Today

    Sexual assault charges are some of the most serious criminal charges in Connecticut.  If you’re being investigated for statutory rape, of if you’ve been arrested for Sexual Assault Second Degree/§ 53a-71, don’t speak to the police and don’t go to court without experienced representation by your side. Check out hundreds of verified reviews from our former clients at Avvo.com.  Then call us today at (203) 358-4700.