Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Connecticut Second-Degree Harassment Lawyer

    A Connecticut second-degree harassment lawyer can seek evidence to refute the allegations against you and help you reach a positive outcome. A top-ranked criminal defense attorney can also fight to protect your rights throughout the process and help you avoid mistakes that could jeopardize your case.

    What If I Didn’t Have the Intent to Harass?

    For actions to be harassment, you generally must have acted “with intent to harass, annoy or alarm another person,” according to Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-183. An attorney in Connecticut can work to show that actions in question for a second-degree harassment charge were undertaken accidentally or with another intent and therefore no violation occurred.

    Is There More Than One Way to Commit a Second-Degree Harassment Offense?

    You can commit harassment in the second degree in one of three ways under C.G.S. 53a-183. These actions concern phone calls and communications through written mediums. They do not concern face-to-face communications.

    If you call someone with the intent to annoy them, if you use indecent or obscene language in a phone call, or if you write to someone with the intent to annoy them, you may be guilty of second degree harassment.

    It should be noted that if you use indecent or obscene language on a phone call, there is no requirement for the state to prove you acted with the intent to harass. Therefore you can commit this crime without even realizing it. If someone has further questions about whether or not their behavior may constitute a second-degree harassment charge, they should contact a Connecticut attorney.

    What Actions can Constitute Second Degree Harassment?

    Calling someone, even without having a conversation, can result in second-degree harassment charges. As can repeated texts, emails, or other written communications. This statute is broad and many kinds of conduct can fall underneath it, but a Connecticut attorney can help analyze your unique second-degree harassment case and advocate for your rights.

    What are the Penalties for Second Degree Harassment?

    Second-degree harassment is a Class C misdemeanor and convictions exposure you to up to 3 months in jail and/or a $500 fine. Though this is less serious than a felony charge, it’s still important to preserve a clean record and a Connecticut attorney can work towards a positive disposition in your second-degree harassment case.

    Consult a Connecticut Second-Degree Harassment Attorney

    A Connecticut second-degree harassment lawyer can use all available strategies to fight the charges and help reach a favorable outcome. For a confidential consultation to learn more about the advantages of working with an experienced defense attorney, call Mark Sherman Law.