Connecticut Second-Degree Sexual Assault Lawyer
If you are facing charges of sexual assault in the second degree, you should not risk handling the case yourself. These are serious charges, and a conviction could result in years of jail time.
For help building a defense against these charges, contact a top Connecticut second-degree sexual assault lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced defense attorney could be your advocate at every step of the process and fight for an optimum outcome to your case.
Common Examples of Sexual Assault in the Second-Degree
In Connecticut, sexual assault in the second degree could be a wide range of behavior. It typically occurs when a person engages in sexual intercourse with another person who is between the ages of 13 and 16 years old, and the actor is more than three years older than that person. It could also occur if a person engages in sexual intercourse with someone who is impaired because of a mental disability or disease to the extent that they are legally unable to consent to intercourse.
Sex assault in the second degree could also occur in Connecticut if the alleged victim is physically helpless. It could occur if the alleged victim is less than 18 years old and the actor is the alleged victim’s guardian or responsible for the person. These charges could also apply if the alleged victim is in the custody of a large hospital or institution, and the incident occurs at that institution. If someone has been accused of such actions, a Connecticut attorney could help build a strong defense against charges of second-degree sexual assault.
Prohibited Sexual Relationships
Additionally, scenarios are considered sexual assault in the second degree when the actor is in a position of power. Any time an actor is 20 years or older and in any sort of power over the alleged victim, and the alleged victim is under the age of 18, it is sexual assault in the second degree in Connecticut.
These statutes also cover other types of relationship. For example, sexual intercourse is prohibited between a psychotherapist and patient. The law also forbids sexual intercourse between employees of a school and students enrolled in that school. Even if the alleged victim is 18 years or older, it is still considered sexual assault in the second degree if the actor works at the school.
The same applies to coaches. Any time there is sexual intercourse between a coach and a member of the coach’s athletic activity, it is considered sexual assault in the second degree in Connecticut. If someone has questions about whether or not certain charges may pertain to their case, they should enlist the help of a Connecticut defense attorney.
Charges and Penalties
Second-degree sexual assault could be charged as either a Class B or a Class C felony. The main distinction is the age of the alleged victim. Sexual assault in the second degree in Connecticut is a Class B felony if the alleged victim of the offense is under 16 years old. All other sexual assaults in the second-degree crimes in Connecticut are Class C felonies with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of nine months. For more information about the penalties associated with this crime and how a Connecticut sexual assault attorney could help, call today.
Contact a Connecticut Second-Degree Sexual Assault Attorney Todat
If you were arrested for sexual assault, your next step should be contacting a Connecticut second-degree sexual assault lawyer. A local defense attorney could work tirelessly for a swift resolution to your case. Call today to schedule a case review.