Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Quinnipiac University Fake ID-Forgery Lawyer

    Fake ID/forgery charges can lead to serious penalties, and a criminal record could have a long-lasting impact on a student’s life. If you are facing charges for possessing or using a fake ID, contact a Quinnipiac fake ID-forgery lawyer to begin building a credible defense. A dedicated attorney in Hampden Connecticut could fight tirelessly for an optimum outcome to your case.

    Is Having a Fake ID Illegal in Connecticut?

    Connecticut General Statutes (“C.G.S.”) §53a-139 makes using and/or possessing a fake ID a Class D felony.

    Top criminal attorneys will tell you that even if you never use a fake ID, simply having one in your wallet or in your dorm could place you at risk of facing serious criminal consequences.

    Potential Penalties

    Forgery in the Second Degree, C.G.S. §53a-139, is a felony that can negatively impact your background checks and criminal record. If you plead or are found guilty of Forgery in the Second Degree, you face up to 5 years in jail, a fine of up to $5,000.00, and a period of probation.

    How Can I Fight my Fake ID Charges?

    It is possible to get forgery in the second-degree charges dismissed by taking part in the Accelerated Pretrial Rehabilitation (“AR”) program. Individuals charged with certain non-violent crimes who have never used the program before may be eligible. If this program is granted, the individual must complete it, which could involve a variety of requirements like community service, taking part in educational programs, and/or paying restitution. This program can last for up to two years, but once it is complete and all court-ordered conditions are satisfied, the charges against the individual are dismissed.

    How Many Times Can I use Accelerated Rehabilitation in Connecticut?

    Most people can only participate in AR once during their lifetime, so it is important to contact a top Quinnipiac / Hamden Connecticut criminal lawyer to seek out a reduction in your charges. It is possible to have the charge reduced to forgery in the third degree, a Class B misdemeanor (C.G.S. §53a-140), which only carries the risk of six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000.00, and a period of probation. Doing this reserves your right to be able to apply for AR in the future if need be.

    Contact a Quinnipiac University Fake ID Attorney

    If you have been charged with forgery in the second degree for possessing or using a Fake ID, contact a Quinnipiac University fake ID-forgery criminal lawyer at Mark Sherman Law today. Our team will work hard to get you the most desirable outcome possible.