Connecticut Reckless Driving Lawyer
Many motorists who pass through Southern Connecticut—especially on the Merritt Parkway and I-95 North and South—have found themselves pulled over and charged with Reckless Driving. Getting charged for Reckless Driving in Connecticut may look and feel like a speeding ticket. You usually are just given a ticket and are not handcuffed, photographed and booked at the local police station. Make no mistake though—this is not just a speeding ticket. It is a technical and legal arrest. It is much more serious. These are criminal misdemeanor charges and punishable with either stiff fines, jail, or probation, resulting in a permanent criminal record and a suspension of your driver’s license in certain circumstances. Therefore, if you are charged with Reckless Driving under C.G.S. § 14-222 in Stamford, Greenwich, Darien, Westport, Fairfield, Norwalk or New Canaan, you should contact a Connecticut motor vehicle criminal lawyer right away to attempt to resolve this case without a conviction.
How are Reckless Driving Charges in Connecticut Different from Speeding Tickets?
The biggest difference between Reckless Driving and Speeding charges is that Reckless Driving is a crime, not an infraction like a Speeding ticket. For a full text of the statute, click here. Connecticut prosecutors and judges treat Reckless Driving with a serious degree of scrutiny—as most of these cases involve accusations of driving well over the speed limit, in some cases over 100 miles per hour on I95 or other Connecticut highways.
Many of our clients are not sure of what factors escalate a Speeding charge to a Reckless Driving charge–the rule of thumb is 85 miles per hour—that is, anytime a driver is clocked at a speed greater than 85 miles per hour, he or she will be cited for the misdemeanor charge of reckless driving. Police often use radar and laser technology to determine your speed. These methods, however, are not perfect, and an experienced Connecticut criminal lawyer such as those at Mark Sherman law can analyze the police and speed reports and attempt to break down the officer’s report to assist in your defense.
Fighting Reckless Driving Charges in Connecticut
The attorneys at Mark Sherman Law regularly defend Connecticut drivers from Reckless Driving charges under C.G.S. § 14-222. Each case is reviewed by at least two attorneys from our firm. We carefully analyze each police report, evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of each report, and analyze the data taken from the speed detection devices (i.e. radar, laser, etc.). We assess the time of day, likelihood of the device’s accuracy, and request the calibration history of the device used in your case. At times, the arresting officer’s laser could lock onto a car other than yours, yet you still may be charged. We will aggressively investigate and defend your case to get your case dismissed, and will not hesitate to take your case to a trial if necessary.
The Penalties for Reckless Driving Charges in Connecticut
If you plead guilty or are found guilty at trial for Reckless Driving, you will have a permanent criminal record. You will also receive an automatic suspension of your Connecticut driver’s license. Specifically, a first time Connecticut Reckless Driving conviction can result in up to 30 days in prison, a fine of up to $300 and probation. A second time conviction can lead to up to 1 year in prison a $600 fine, and probation. Because of these stiff penalties, it is important to work with a Connecticut Reckless Driving lawyer to work within the court system to explore alternatives to pleading guilty.
How Reckless Driving Charges Affect Your Connecticut Driver’s License & Insurance
Not only does a conviction for a Connecticut Reckless Driving charge carry penalties in court such as jail, fines and probation, but there are also DMV and insurance consequences as well, such as DMV driver’s license suspensions and fees. For a first-time conviction, the Connecticut DMV will suspend your license for 30 days; each subsequent conviction follows with a 90 day suspension. Additionally, each time you apply to re-instate your license after a DMV suspension, you are required to pay a $175 fee. Then your driving record and Reckless Driving conviction will eventually be reviewed by your automobile insurance carrier, which could affect your premiums, or even lead to the carrier terminating your insurance. For all of the above reasons, it is critical that you consult a criminal lawyer if you are charged with Reckless Driving in Stamford, Greenwich, Darien, Westport, Fairfield, Norwalk or New Canaan. All of the lawyers at Mark Sherman Law can assist you with your Reckless Driving charge and can help you avoid a DMV driver’s license suspension.
Contact Us Today
If you have been pulled over and issued a Reckless Driving ticket in Stamford, Greenwich, Darien, Westport, Norwalk, or New Canaan, please call an attorney at Mark Sherman Law to learn how we can help you. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, at (203) 358-4700.