Darien Burglary Lawyer
Assistance from an experienced Darien burglary lawyer can make all the difference when fighting the charges in your case. Working with a top defense lawyer who understands the details of burglary can help you to exploit every weakness in the prosecution’s arguments and help achieve a positive outcome.
What Are the Penalties for Burglary in Connecticut?
Under the Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.), burglary can be charged as a Class B, C, or D felony depending on the circumstances of the specific case. In addition, simply possessing or manufacturing burglar’s tools is treated as a Class A misdemeanor. Penalties are as follows:
- C.G.S. § 53a-101, First Degree Burglary, Class B felony – 1-20 years of imprisonment, fine up to $15,000
- C.G.S. § 53a-102, Second Degree Burglary, Class C felony – 1-10 years of imprisonment, fine up to $10,000
- C.G.S. § 53a-103, Third Degree Burglary, Class D felony – up to five years of imprisonment, fine up to $5,000
- C.G.S. § 53a-104, Possession of Burglary Tools, Class A misdemeanor – up to one year of imprisonment, fine up to $2,000
A burglary lawyer in Darien may be able to argue to have your case dropped, to have your charges lessened, or to use alternative penalties.
Is Third-Degree Burglary Still Serious?
The least serious burglary crime is burglary in the third degree, which is defined at Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-103. You can be found guilty of third-degree burglary if you enter or stay in a building without legal authorization and have the intent to commit a crime while in the building. Don’t get misled though, while it is the least serious of burglary charges, it is still a felony charge.
Prosecutors have the burden of proving that the person accused was in the building “unlawfully,” so a Darien burglary attorney could fight the charges by showing that the presence in the building was permissible. Other defenses involve proving that the person accused had no intention of committing a criminal act or that the building was abandoned.
What Constitutes Second-Degree Burglary?
As with third-degree burglary and according to C.G.S. §53a-102, a second-degree burglary involves unlawfully entering or staying in a building with the intent to commit a crime. However, in the case of second-degree burglary, that building must be a dwelling and it must be occupied by someone other than the person accused of burglary. Sometimes, this is known as home invasion.
Accordingly, a burglary attorney could defend against charges by explaining why the building should not be considered a dwelling, or that it was not actually occupied at the time of the incident.
How Do Courts Regard First-Degree Burglary?
First degree burglary involves entering or remaining unlawfully in a building intending to commit a crime and 1) an attempt to cause or successfully causing injury to another, 2) the building they enter is a dwelling at night, or 3) the person entering is armed with explosives or a deadly weapon.
First degree burglary is a Class B felony and carries hefty jailtime, fines, and probation. Further the stigma of a felony conviction can impact your ability to gain employment and housing. Avoiding a felony conviction at all costs is therefore priority number 1.
Work with a Knowledgeable Darien Burglary Attorney
Working with an experienced Darien burglary lawyer soon after an arrest can provide the greatest number of opportunities for your legal advocate to protect your rights and your interests. Call Mark Sherman Law now to learn more about the advantages a dedicated defense lawyer could provide in your unique situation.