Fighting Your Greenwich Reckless Endangerment Arrest
- Greenwich CT Reckless Endangerment arrests occur when someone poses a risk of injury to another person.
- When kids are involved, DCF investigations always follow Reckless Endangerment arrests.
- Contact a top Greenwich criminal defense attorney if you are arrested in Greenwich for Reckless Endangerment to protect your criminal record.
What Behavior Constitutes Reckless Endangerment?
Anything that involves a conscious disregard to human health and safety. Given the broad language of Connecticut’s Reckless Endangerment statutes, you can imagine that a whole host of behavior can lead to a Reckless Endangerment arrest. We often see Reckless Endangerment charges tacked on to other arrests any time a person is perceived to be at risk—for instance, any time a person is charged with Reckless Driving or a DUI with a passenger in the vehicle. We also often see these charges following a fight or brawl that involves more than one person.
Can I Get My Reckless Endangerment Case Dismissed in Greenwich?
Yes, it’s possible. The experienced attorneys at Mark Sherman Law are aware of the Court’s concerns while prosecuting these cases—often times there is a concern that a defendant has a substance abuse or mental health concern that underlies these charges. Working with any of the best Greenwich Connecticut criminal lawyers means getting the help or treatment you need to put the court at ease, to get your charges resolved or dismissed as quickly as possible. After reviewing your case and criminal history, our attorneys will explore the option of a court diversionary program, that would leave you with a clean criminal record.
What Are The Penalties for Reckless Endangerment in Greenwich?
If you are charged with Reckless Endangerment in the first degree, you can face up to 1 year in jail, up to a $2,000 fine and 2 years of probation. The penalties for Reckless Endangerment in the second degree include up to 6 months in jail, up to a $1,000 fine and up to 1-year probation. If convicted of any degree of Reckless Endangerment in Connecticut, you will be stuck with a permanent misdemeanor record.
What is Reckless Endangerment?
Under Connecticut General Statute (“C.G.S.”) § 53a-63, Reckless Endangerment in the first degree occurs when a person, with extreme indifference to human life, recklessly engages in conduct which creates a risk of serious physical injury to another person. Reckless Endangerment in the first degree is a class A misdemeanor. Under C.G.S. § 53a-64, Reckless Endangerment in the second degree occurs when a person recklessly engages in conduct which creates a risk of physical injury to another person. Reckless Endangerment in the second degree is a class B misdemeanor. The main difference between first- and second-degree Reckless Endangerment charges is the risk of serious physical injury.
Will the Department of Children and Families Contact me after an Arrest?
Any time a child is present during an arrest, Greenwich Police will make a report to DCF. DCF has 72 hours to launch an investigation into the allegations. Contact an experienced defense attorney today to learn your rights and protect yourself from prolonged DCF involvement.
Call a Reckless Endangerment Attorney at Mark Sherman Law Today
If you are arrested for Reckless Endangerment in Greenwich, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney today to learn how to defend these charges and keep your criminal record clean. The attorneys are Mark Sherman Law are available to discuss your case 24/7. Click here to read from our hundreds of certified Avvo.com reviews and contact us today at (203) 358-4700.