New Canaan Harassment Lawyer
If you have been accused of harassment, you should seek help from a knowledgeable domestic violence attorney. A New Canaan harassment lawyer could explain why you were charged with this particular offense, what sanctions you may face upon conviction, and what you could do to fight the charges.
What is Harassment in the Second Degree?
Most instances of criminal harassment in Connecticut—including those considered to be domestic violence—are categorized as harassment in the second degree. As per Connecticut General Statutes §53a-183, second-degree harassment may take any of the following forms:
- Calling someone on the phone with the express purpose of annoying or alarming them
- Contacting someone via the mail, an electronic message, or any other form of written communication with the express purpose of annoying or alarming them
- Using obscene language to address someone else during a phone conversation
Importantly, harassment does not necessarily have to have its intended effect for someone to be arrested for it. For example, if someone intends to harass someone else over the phone but the intended target never picks up the phone, the alleged perpetrator could still be charged with a crime for the intentional attempt they made.
How is Harassment In The Second-Degree Charged in New Canaan?
Harassment in the second degree is a class C misdemeanor, for which a conviction may result in a maximum three-month stay in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
Additionally, if someone is arrested for harassing a domestic partner, family member, or household member, they may also be subject to the imposition of a protective order, investigation by the Connecticut Department of Children and Families, and various other family court proceedings. To learn more about New Canaan domestic violence arrests, click here.
An experienced New Canaan harassment attorney could offer further clarification about what consequences an individual defendant may have to deal with in their case.
When Is Harassment Upgraded to a Felony Offense?
Under certain circumstances, harassment may be prosecuted as a felony. This variant of harassment, known as harassment in the first degree, is defined by C.G.S. §53a-182b as any intentional threat of bodily harm or death made over the phone or through any form of written communication by someone who has previously been convicted of a violent felony offense.
Anyone who is charged with first-degree harassment may face penalties commensurate with a class D felony, which may include between one and five years in prison as well as a $5,000 fine. A New Canaan harassment lawyer can help you understand what kind of harassment you’ve been charged with and begin working immediately to build a strong defense.
Seek Advice from a New Canaan Harassment Attorney Today
No matter why you were arrested or what the justification for your charge is, you may need help from quality legal counsel to have any hope of a positive case result. Call a New Canaan harassment lawyer to schedule an initial meeting and determine what your best course of action may be. Read our certified 5-star reviews on avvo.com here and give us a call at 203-358-4700 to learn more about how we can help you.