New Canaan Sex Crimes Lawyer
No matter what type of offense you are accused of, you have the right to representation from a top criminal defense attorney. Instead of defending yourself or relying on a public defender provided by a court, consider contacting a seasoned New Canaan sex crimes lawyer to help you understand the charges against you and construct a strong defense of your rights and best interests.
What Are The Various Degrees of Sexual Assault in Connecticut?
Connecticut state law defines four levels, or degrees, of sexual assaults, as well as circumstances under which certain degrees may be considered aggravated and prosecuted more severely. The most severe sexual assault crime in Connecticut—first-degree sexual assault—entails someone forcing another person to engage in sexual intercourse, committing a lesser degree of sexual assault with help from at least two other people, or someone engaging in sexual intercourse with a mentally incapacitated person, as defined in Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-70.
This offense is a class B felony unless it is committed against someone less than 13 years of age, in which it is escalated to a class A felony offense. Aggravated first-degree sexual assault—which entails committing first-degree sexual assault while armed and/or while seriously endangering the life of the victim, according to C.G.S. §53a-70a—is still a class B or class A felony offense under the same circumstances, but guidelines regarding whether associated prison sentences can be suspended by a court are much stricter.
How Are Second and Third-Degree Sexual Assault Prosecuted?
Second- and third-degree sexual assault can be prosecuted as class B, C, or D felonies depending on the circumstances, and fourth-degree sexual assault is a class A misdemeanor unless the alleged victim is under 16 years of age. All sex assault charges carry the potential for lengthy jail sentences, hefty fines, and periods of rigid probation. No matter what specific charge an individual is facing, a New Canaan sex crimes attorney could help them with their case.
Can Sexual Offenses Be Non-Violent?
Not all sex crimes in Connecticut are considered violent offenses. For example, C.G.S. §§53a-82 and 53a-83 respectively prohibit the selling of sexual services by a person over 18 and paying another person for sexual services. Both offenses are class A misdemeanors and, in the latter case, punishable by a $2,000 fine.
However, if the person paid to provide sexual services was a minor, C.G.S. §53a-83b allows for the offense of soliciting those services to be prosecuted as a class B felony. In addition, it is a felony offense for someone to promote prostitution to any of the three degrees listed in Connecticut state law. In either scenario, representation from a sex crimes lawyer in New Canaan may be crucial to a defendant’s odds of resolving their case in a positive way.
Talk to a New Canaan Sex Crimes Attorney Today
Do not leave the outcome of your criminal prosecution to chance. Contact an experienced New Canaan sex crimes lawyer at Mark Sherman Law to discuss your legal options and start building your defense.