Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Norwalk Strangulation Lawyer 

    If you are facing charges involving strangulation in Norwalk Connecticut, reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A Norwalk strangulation lawyer could help collect and preserve valuable evidence.

    What is Strangulation in Norwalk Connecticut?

    Under Connecticut criminal law, there are three statutes defining different versions of criminal strangulation. They range from Strangulation in the third degree, which is the least serious, to Strangulation in the first degree, which is the most serious.

    What is Strangulation in the Third Degree in Connecticut?

    Although third-degree strangulation is the least serious strangulation offense and is a class A misdemeanor, it is still punishable by up to a year of imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,000, since it is the most severe class of misdemeanor. You may be convicted of strangulation in the third degree under Connecticut General Statutes §53a-64cc for “recklessly” holding another person by the throat or neck and, in the process, restricting their ability to breathe or constricting their blood flow.

    What are the Penalties for Strangulation in the Second Degree in Norwalk Connecticut?

    The maximum penalties for strangulation in the second degree include up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Evidence must not only show intent or lack thereof, but also demonstrate that the contact either did or did not impede breath or blood flow.

    Second-degree strangulation, a class D felony, occurs when a person restrains another around the neck or throat with the specific intent to reduce blood flow or impede breathing, as per CGS §53a-64bb. So, while strangulation is a misdemeanor if committed recklessly, it becomes a felony when done with intent.

    What is Strangulation in the First Degree in Norwalk Connecticut?

    A person can be arrested for First Degree Strangulation in Norwalk Connecticut if they restrain another around the neck or throat with the specific intent to reduce blood flow or impede breathing and one of the following occurs:

    • A dangerous instrument—defined as any article or substance capable of causing death or serious physical injury—is used, or such use is attempted
    • Serious physical injury results from the strangulation
    • The individual taking action has a prior conviction for first or second-degree strangulation.

    What are the Penalties for Strangulation in the First Degree in Norwalk Connecticut?

    First Degree Strangulation in Connecticut is a Class C Felony, which comes with hefty penalties. If you are convicted or found guilty after a Strangulation First Degree arrest, then you face up to ten years in jail, a fine of up to $15,000.00, and a substantial period of probation.

    Work with an Experienced Norwalk Strangulation Attorney

    Because you risk substantial jail time and a permanent criminal record after a Connecticut strangulation arrest, you should speak to a top Norwalk strangulation lawyer with experience handling these types of cases. Your attorney can start right away to advocate on your behalf and build the most effective possible defense. For a case evaluation, call our office now.