Norwalk Theft Lawyer
A Norwalk theft lawyer can work to show that there is not enough evidence to convict you of a crime. A top criminal defense lawyer in Connecticut could also work to protect your rights and, if necessary, present mitigating factors to persuade the court to impose the least burdensome consequences.
How Are Defenses Created in Theft Cases?
To create the best strategy for defense in a theft case in CT, it is essential to examine the circumstances of your specific case and the elements of the specific theft crime charged. For example, the crime of embezzlement involves “wrongfully” appropriating the property of another person that has been entrusted to someone. To learn more about embezzlement charges, click here. A theft lawyer in Norwalk can work to show that you did not appropriate the property but were holding it for the owner.
To make the most of the opportunities for defense, it is necessary to begin collecting evidence as soon as possible. With the passage of time, evidence becomes more difficult to locate and the quality often deteriorates.
What Are the Penalties for Theft in Connecticut?
State law generally penalizes theft crimes based on the value of the property at issue. Using the term “larceny,” the statutes classify six degrees of this crime. The property values and maximum penalties for larceny are as follows:
- First degree – property worth more than $20,000 – Class B felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000 (Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-122)
- Second degree – property worth between $10,000 and $20,000 – Class C felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000(C.G.S. §53a-123)
- Third degree – property worth between $2,000 and $10,000 – Class D felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000 (C.G.S. §53a-124)
- Fourth degree – property worth between $1,000 and $2,000 – Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year of imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,000 (C.G.S. §53a-125)
- Fifth degree – property worth between $500 and $1,000 – Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months of imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000
- Sixth degree – property worth less than $500 – Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to three months of imprisonment and a fine of up to $500
In some cases, the type of property or the attending circumstances also affect the penalties. For example, property taken by extortion is always treated as larceny in the first degree under C.G.S. §53a-122. A Norwalk theft attorney can seek alternative penalties, especially for first-time offenders.
Work with an Experienced Norwalk Theft Attorney
Even if the circumstances seem to weigh against you, it is important to remember that every person should be treated as innocent until proven guilty. The prosecution has the burden of proving every element of an offense. If a Norwalk theft lawyer can create doubt about even one element of the crime, then you may find your case dismissed. Call today for a consultation at Mark Sherman Law and to learn how a theft lawyer can help you reach a positive outcome in your case.