Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Ridgefield Third-Degree Assault Lawyer

    There are three distinct “degrees” of assault defined in the Connecticut Penal Code, with Assault in the Third Degree being the least severe by comparison. As an experienced criminal defense attorney can affirm, though, that does not mean being accused of this crime should be taken lightly. If you are facing allegations of this nature, contacting a Ridgefield third-degree assault lawyer for assistance should be your top priority.

    What Counts as Assault in the Third Degree?

    Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) § 53a-61 defines three ways someone may commit Assault in the Third Degree. The first and most commonly applied definition involves someone intentionally causing injury to another person.

    Alternatively, someone who causes serious physical injury to another person through reckless misconduct may also be charged with and prosecuted for Assault in the Third Degree. In this context, a serious injury means harm that results in severe and permanent disfigurement or disability and/or creates a substantial risk of death. Likewise, someone who causes physical harm to another person through the criminally negligent use of a deadly weapon, electronic defense tool, or other dangerous instrument has committed Assault in the Third Degree under the aforementioned statute.

    It is worth emphasizing that intent to cause harm is not a component of all the definitions for Assault in the Third Degree, so it is possible to be convicted of this offense even if the defendant was not consciously trying to hurt anyone. However, individuals can still contest these types of assault charges by establishing that the defendant’s actions did not rise to the level of criminal negligence or recklessness. A trusted Ridgefield attorney can provide more insight into what may constitute as Assault in the Third Degree.

    What Are the Potential Penalties for a Third-Degree Assault Conviction?

    Assault in the Third Degree is a Class A misdemeanor in Connecticut, which means a convicted individual may be sentenced to a maximum of 12 months of incarceration and/or $2,000 in fines. Notably, if someone is convicted of this crime based on their having injured someone else through the criminally negligent use of a dangerous or deadly weapon, they will be subject to a mandatory one-year jail term that cannot be reduced or suspended under any circumstances.

    As a Ridgefield attorney can attest, per C.G.S. § 53a-61a, this same mandatory minimum jail term also applies to anyone convicted of committing Assault in the Third Degree of any kind against someone who is any of the following:

    • At least 60 years old or older;
    • Physically disabled or blind;
    • Pregnant at the time of the assault; and/or
    • Intellectually disabled, provided the defendant does not have an intellectual disability themselves.

    However, it is an affirmative defense under that section of state law if the defendant was not aware that the person they allegedly assaulted was pregnant or intellectually disabled at the time the alleged assault occurred.

    Let a Ridgefield Third-Degree Assault Attorney Build Your Defense

    While Assault in the Third Degree is categorized as a misdemeanor, the sanctions that can come from a conviction for this offense can significantly hinder your personal and professional future, and may even include a mandatory minimum jail sentence. An accusation like this is not something you should try to handle without first seeking representation from a skilled Ridgefield third-degree assault lawyer. Call Mark Sherman Law today for a consultation, and click here to visit our Avvo profile with over 300 certified reviews from past clients.