Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Degrees of Assault in Ridgefield

    Connecticut assault laws are complicated and carry a range of penalties depending on the facts involved in each case. That is why it is critical for anyone arrested for domestic violence assault to understand their charges and to make sure that their case is thoroughly investigated and presented in the best possible light. It is important that you work with a local attorney that is well-versed in the different degrees of assault in Ridgefield. Consult a qualified and determined assault attorney that could try to achieve the best possible outcome for you.

    Factors Aggravating Assault Degrees

    There are several factors that can escalate an assault offense to a more serious level with the potential for heavier penalties.

    Some of the aspects of a case that can be said to aggravate an assault arrest include:

    • Use or threatened use of a weapon
    • Type or severity of an injury resulting from the assault
    • Age or infirmity of the individual affected by the assault

    Determining the Severity of the Offense

    While assault in the second-degree is generally treated as a class D felony under CGS § 53a-60 of the Connecticut criminal code, the statute specifies that if the assault results in a serious physical injury, then the crime jumps to a class C felony. When that happens, the maximum term of imprisonment increases from five years to ten years, with a minimum sentence and a potentially higher fine as well.

    The intent of the individual arrested for assault in Ridgefield is a key factor in determining the degree of the offense. If someone uses a deadly weapon to intentionally cause serious injury, or intentionally causes a disfiguring injury or intentionally causes any injury by firing a gun, then the offense can be classified as assault in the first degree. This is a class B felony with potential penalties that include up to 20 years in prison.

    Fighting Ridgefield Misdemeanor Assault Cases

    Although an individual may be charged with many different assault crimes in Ridgefield, the basic forms of this offense are classified as assault in the first, second or third degrees. Only one version of assault is considered a misdemeanor and that is assault in the third degree, which is the most commonly charged assault crime in a domestic violence arrest.

    Third-degree assault is when someone either intentionally causes a non-serious injury to another, recklessly cause a more serious injury, or negligently cause injury while using a weapon. Assault in the third-degree is a Class A misdemeanor with potential penalties that include up to one year of imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,000.

    Other Potential Assault Degrees

    Other degrees of assault in Ridgefield, including first and second-degree assault, are considered felonies in Ridgefield, Connecticut. The least serious felony assault charge—assault in the second-degree—is a class D felony, with maximum sentences of up to 5 years and maximum fines of $5,000. Aggravating factors may increase these maximums or result in a minimum sentence.

    Second-degree assault can occur in a number of different situations. Some of the more common include when someone intentionally causes a serious injury to another or causes a less serious injury through the intentional use of a deadly weapon other than a gun. Reckless use of a deadly weapon can also result in a charge of second-degree assault if a serious injury occurs.

    Discuss the Degrees of Assault With a Ridgefield Attorney

    When facing charges for different degrees of assault in Ridgefield, it is crucial to seek help from a legal team that is thoroughly familiar with the Danbury, Connecticut criminal court. Your lawyer should also know how to craft the best available defense strategy based on the particular circumstances of your case. If you have been charged with assault, consult a skilled defense attorney that can fight for a positive outcome for you.