Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Ridgefield Harassment Lawyer 

    Harassment charges are common in Ridgefield domestic violence arrests. Ridgefield police give serious consideration to allegations concerning domestic violence, and the result is frequently a charge of harassment or the related offense of stalking.

    There are two different degrees of harassment, one of which is a felony and the other a misdemeanor. A conviction for either offense can result in a substantial fine or term of imprisonment, a lengthy restraining order, and even a court-ordered psychiatric evaluation.

    That is why anyone arrested for harassment should seek counsel from an experienced Ridgefield harassment lawyer. A determined domestic violence lawyer can begin working toward the best possible resolution.

    First-Degree Harassment

    Harassment in the first-degree is an offense that encompasses a much narrower range of circumstances. To begin with, the individual charged must have a previous conviction for a serious felony.

    If such an individual makes a threat to physically injure or kill another, the individual will be guilty of first-degree harassment if:

    • The threat is made with the intent to terrorize, alarm, annoy or harass another
    • The threat is communicated by a form of writing (including electronic communications) or by phone
    • The threat is carried out in a manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm.

    Second-Degree Harassment Arrests in Ridgefield

    The most common harassment arrest is for Harassment in the Second Degree under CGS 53a-183. All Ridgefield criminal arrests are referred to the Danbury Superior Court. Connecticut law describes 3 different scenarios that will trigger an arrest for this crime, and because these definitions are quite broad, they encompass a wide range of circumstances.

    Section 53a-183 of the Connecticut Penal Code second-degree harassment as engaging in any of the following behaviors:

    • Using indecent or obscene language on the telephone
    • Communicating by mail, email, text, social media, fax, computer or other forms of written or electronic communications in a method “likely to cause annoyance or alarm” with the intent to harass
    • Making a phone call with the intent to harass, annoy or alarm in a means likely to cause such annoyance or alarm

    The statute specifically notes that a phone call made with intent to harass does not actually need to include any conversation in order to constitute harassment.

    Penalties for Harassment

    Harassment in the second-degree is classified as a Class C misdemeanor in Connecticut. Those convicted of such offenses may be sentenced to up to three months imprisonment and a fine of up to $500.

    Connecticut classifies first-degree harassment as a Class D felony. Individuals convicted of violating this statute will be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of at least one year and as much as five years. A fine of up to $5,000 may also be imposed.

    Moreover, the court may order an individual convicted under either statute to be examined by a psychiatrist. A Ridgefield harassment lawyer can help mitigate penalties that an individual may face.

    Contacting a Harassment Attorney

    Cases involving allegations of harassment can be complicated and emotional. It is important to work with an experienced Ridgefield harassment lawyer who understands the circumstances that often surround this offense. Work with a capable attorney who can attempt to craft the best defense possible for you, based on your situation.