Westport First-Degree Assault Lawyer
In Westport and throughout Connecticut, first-degree assault is a felony charge than can carry serious consequences. If you face charges, reach out to a Westport first-degree assault lawyer as soon as possible. With a dedicated criminal defense attorney by your side, you could raise a credible defense against your assault charges.
What Constitutes First-Degree Assault in CT?
An arrest for first-degree assault in Westport is charged under Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-59. There are many different parts to first-degree assault under § 53a-59, but the law outlines five specific actions:
- Intentionally causing another serious bodily harm with a deadly weapon (GSC §53a-59(1))
- Intentionally disfiguring or disabling another (GSC §53a-59(2))
- Recklessly inflicting serious harm to another (GSC §53a-59(3))
- Intentionally causing serious physical harm with the assistance of two or more accomplices (GSC §53a-59(4))
- Intentionally injuring another through use of a firearm (GSC §53a-59(5))
What are the Penalties for a First-Degree Assault Charge in Westport?
First-degree assault is generally charged as a class B felony under the Connecticut penal code. However, as any top criminal attorney in Westport will tell you, certain aggravating factors may increase it to a class A felony.
Class B felonies are punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine as high as $15,000. However, penalties for class A felonies could increase to 25 years in prison and fines of up to $20,000.
It is important to note that certain aggravating factors may require 5 to 10 years of a sentence to be served no matter what, a situation generally known as a “mandatory minimum.” The court is unable to suspend or reduce this time. For example, if a first-degree assault involved a deadly weapon or was inflicted against a vulnerable individual, convicted individuals must serve at least portion of their sentence regardless of any other extenuating circumstances.
Defending Assault Charges
The prosecution must demonstrate certain elements to convict on charges of first-degree assault. First, they must demonstrate that the accused individual acted with intent. This generally means the accused individual wished to cause serious injury or acted with extreme recklessness. The severity of an alleged victim’s injury may be another key factor that plays into a potential first-degree assault charge.
In a criminal trial, evidence of intent could be the key to a positive outcome. A strong Westport first-degree assault attorney could assist with evidence collection—including garnering witness testimonies—or with presenting facts to demonstrate that your actions did not amount to intent.
Speak with a Westport Assault Attorney Today
Evidence is crucial in all criminal cases. For this reason, it is wise to ensure evidence is quickly collected, preserved, and correctly stored. Fortunately, an experienced Westport first-degree assault lawyer could assist with this step by advising you on potential defenses and explaining the rulings for similar local cases.
If you are facing first-degree assault charges, allow a criminal defense attorney to look over your case. Call Mark Sherman Law today to start discussing your options and determining how best to achieve a positive outcome.