Westport Harassment Lawyer
While domestic violence may not seem like a very serious criminal charge in Connecticut, it is important to take an arrest seriously. A Westport harassment lawyer can help if you find yourself facing charges for allegedly harassing or bothering another person.
How is Second-Degree Harassment Defined in Westport?
There are numerous actions that could ostensibly qualify as criminal harassment in Connecticut. According to Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-183, a person may be arrested for second-degree harassment if they are found to have engaged in any of the following actions:
- Using obscene or indecent language when addressing someone else via telephone
- Using any form of written communication—including electronic means like emails and text messages—to intentionally annoy or alarm another person
- Making any kind of telephone call with the intent of annoying, alarming, or otherwise harassing someone
Attempted harassment does not necessarily have to be successful for someone to be charged with a criminal offense. For example, if someone calls someone else with the intent to harass over the phone, the intended target not answering the call would not absolve the perpetrator of criminal liability. Speaking with a Westport harassment attorney should be a priority.
Is Harassment in the Second Degree a Felony?
No. Second degree harassment is a class C misdemeanor, A conviction can lead to at most a fine of $500 and a jail sentence of three months. In addition, C.G.S. §53a-183(c) gives courts the authority to mandate psychological evaluation for anyone convicted of this offense.
What Is First-Degree Harassment?
In certain situations, harassment may be prosecuted in the first degree rather than the second degree, raising it to a class D felony offense. Specifically, C.G.S. §53a-182b defines first-degree harassment as a situation in which a person uses a telephone or any form of written or electronic communication to intentionally and knowingly threaten another person with imminent injury or death. In order to be prosecuted for first-degree harassment, a person must also have previously been convicted of a violent felony offense in Connecticut.
Upon conviction for harassment in the first degree, a defendant may face one to five years in prison, as well as a fine of up to $5,000. Further, the stigma and lasting social consequences of having a felony record can last well past the conclusion of your court case. This is just one of the many reasons why it is wise to reach out to a skilled Westport harassment attorney as early as possible.
Speak with a Westport Harassment Attorney Today
Help from a Westport harassment lawyer could be crucial to obtaining a positive resolution to your criminal charges. Call the dedicated attorneys at Mark Sherman Law today to talk with a seasoned defense attorney about the legal options available in your situation. You can read our certified Avvo.com reviews here.