Contact Us

Case Evaluation
close

Fighting Connecticut DUI / DWI with Kids in Car Arrests

Blog
Fighting Connecticut DUI / DWI with Kids in Car Arrests
  • A Connecticut DUI with children in the car arrest under C.G.S. 14-227m is much more serious than a regular DUI arrest.
  • A Connecticut DWI / DUI with kids in the car arrest triggers an intensive DCF investigation.

  • A conviction could result in mandatory jail time.
  • On top of the DUI arrest, there will be a C.G.S. 53-21 Risk of Injury charge.
  • So if you’ve been arrested for a Connecticut DUI / DWI with a child in the car, you need to call a top Connecticut DUI attorney immediately.

Connecticut’s New DUI / DWI Laws for DUIs with Child Passengers in the Car

Connecticut lawmakers recently passed a new law for DUIs with child passengers in the car. If you are arrested for a DUI / DWI in Connecticut and there are children under 18 in the car, then not only will you be charged with C.G.S. § 53-21 Risk of Injury to a Minor / Child Endangerment (a Class C felony), but you will be charged with a special subsection of Connecticut DUI law, C.G.S. § 14-227m.

What are the Penalties for DUI with Child Passenger in the Car / C.G.S. § 14-227m?

Under the statute, a conviction for DUI with kids in the car can result in mandatory minimum jail time for 30 days (first offense), 6 months (second offense), or 2 years (third offense). Additionally, mandatory DCF cooperation, ignition interlock device requirements, and other probation conditions will apply.

Can I Avoid Jail for a Connecticut DUI / DWI Arrest with Children in the Car?

Possibly, and your best chances are to hire a top Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal defense attorney with experience in handling DUIs with kids in the car, especially when felony Risk of Injury charges are tacked on.

There are several defense and mitigation strategies that can be explored, depending on the facts and circumstances of your case, so make sure you are in experienced hands for a DUI with kids in the car case.

A DUI with Child Passenger Arrest Triggers a Connecticut DCF Investigation

DUI / DWI arrests in Connecticut under C.G.S. § 14-227m or C.G.S. § 53-21 will always trigger a Connecticut Department of Children & Families (“DCF”) investigation. When this happens, expect a DCF agent to show up unannounced to your front door within 72 hours of your arrest. Do NOT speak to DCF without consulting a lawyer first, no matter what DCF says. They may lean on you to see the kids or sign a safety plan. Be respectful, but tell them you will schedule an appointment with them after you’ve spoken to a top Connecticut DCF investigation lawyer attorney.

You can click here to learn more about fighting Connecticut DCF investigation of child abuse and neglect and how to handle the investigation from beginning to end.

Contact a Connecticut Risk of Injury / DUI Criminal Lawyer Today

There are many moving parts to a Connecticut DUI with kids in the car arrest. Hire a lawyer with DUI, DMV and DCF experience to get the best possible results. The Mark Sherman Law Firm has successfully defended clients against DUI arrests that involved children in the car, many of which resulted in full dismissals. Check out the hundreds of certified Avvo.com reviews from our past clients, and then call us today. We are available 24/7 at (203) 358-4700.

%d bloggers like this: