Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Connecticut Aggravated Assault Lawyer

    Assault first, second and third-degree charges are some of the more commonly charged crimes in Connecticut, especially in domestic violence cases.

    That’s why it’s always a good idea to consult the best Connecticut aggravated assault lawyer as soon as possible to assist you with fighting against a protective/restraining order and start working right away toward the best possible resolution of your case. Call an experienced assault attorney today to set up a consultation.

    What is the Definition of Aggravated Assault?

    Connecticut criminal law describes three basic versions of assault: first, second and third degrees. Moreover, lawmakers have created numerous supplementary assault statutes in which additional circumstances aggravate the offense. The term “aggravated assault” itself is used rarely in the Connecticut penal code. However, the factors that aggravate assault offenses and increase the severity of the crime, as well as the corresponding penalties, may be said to turn a simple assault into an aggravated assault.

    What is a Misdemeanor Assault Third Degree?

    The least serious assault crime is assault in the third degree under CGS 53a-61. This offense can be committed recklessly, negligently as well as intentionally. If an individual intends to injure another and then does so, the action may be considered third-degree assault.

    If the same individual causes a more serious injury but does so recklessly rather than deliberately, that also justifies an arrest for third-degree assault. If the individual causes an injury through the negligent use of a weapon, that behavior constitutes third-degree assault as well. If no aggravating factors are present, then third-degree assault is usually considered a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. When various factors change, the offense is aggravated and becomes a more serious offense. Your Connecticut lawyer could explain these circumstances if they pertain to your aggravated assault case.

    Felony Aggravated Assault Charges in Connecticut

    Both first and second-degree assault charges are felony offenses. The types of factors that aggravate assault into a more serious offense include:

    • A serious injury resulting from the assault
    • The intent to cause serious injury or disfigurement
    • The use of a firearm or other deadly weapon
    • Assistance in the commission of the assault by two or more other individuals
    • The assault is committed against an individual with a vulnerability such as blindness, advanced age, mental impairment, or pregnancy

    In addition, committing an assault with a motor vehicle or against a member of the parole board can also be said to be aggravating factors. These offenses can be treated as Class B, C, or D felonies with potential penalties that include up to 5-20 years in prison and fines between $5,000 and $15,000. An attorney in Connecticut could help someone minimize the penalties of a felony aggravated assault charge.

    Contact a Connecticut Aggravated Assault Attorney

    With aggravated assault cases, the stakes are extremely high. If you’ve been charged with this offense, you need help from a legal team that is thoroughly familiar with this nuanced area of law.

    A top Connecticut aggravated assault lawyer can not only help you understand the ramifications of the charges and your options but could analyze how the laws apply to your unique circumstances and craft the best defensive strategy – often self-defense – to reach the optimum result. Call a veteran attorney today to get started on your defense.