Darien Domestic Violence Harassment Lawyer
When dealing with domestic violence allegations of any kind in Connecticut, it is important to seek legal advice from a qualified domestic violence attorney. If you were arrested for domestic violence related harassment, a Darien harassment lawyer could help you understand your charges, build a comprehensive defense strategy, and work tirelessly to secure a favorable outcome to your case.
What Are The Various Types of Harassment Charges?
There are two degrees of harassment codified in Connecticut state law, one of which is a misdemeanor offense and one of which is classified as a felony. The lesser and more common of the two charges, harassment in the second degree, is defined in Connecticut General Statutes §53a-183. Someone commits harassment in the second degree when they attempt to use a telephone, electronic system, or any form of written communication to intentionally annoy or alarm someone else. In certain cases, addressing someone by phone using obscene or indecent language may be considered criminal harassment as well.
Conversely, first degree harassment under C.G.S. § 53a-182b is a felony charge. To be guilty of this crime, first, the alleged harassment must have involved a direct and intentional threat to cause physical harm or death to the alleged target. Second, the alleged perpetrator must have a record of at least one prior conviction for a violent felony offense.
When is Harassment Considered Domestic Violence?
Not all harassment is related to domestic violence. However, either of the above offenses may be classified as domestic violence if the alleged target of harassment is a family member of, married to, in a romantic relationship with, or shares the same resident as the alleged perpetrator. To learn more about domestic violence arrests, click here.
Consequences of Harassment Convictions
If someone is convicted of second-degree harassment in Connecticut, they are guilty of a class C misdemeanor. The maximum jail sentence is 3 months, and the maximum fine is $500. On the other hand, first-degree harassment is a class D felony offense, meaning that it may be punished upon conviction with anywhere from one to five years in prison, as well as a maximum fine of $5,000.
Consequences for Domestic Violence Related Harassment
In domestic violence harassment cases, there are a plethora of additional consequences and considerations to take. First and foremost, domestic violence charges often lead to the imposition of a protective order. To learn more about Darien protective orders, click here.
Learn More by Talking to a Darien Harassment Attorney
A dedicated Darien harassment lawyer could be your steadfast ally throughout every stage of your case, helping in both criminal and family court. Read the hundreds of reviews from prior clients on Avvo.com by following this link, and then give the dedicated attorneys at Mark Sherman Law a call at 203-358-4700.