Greenwich Harassment Lawyer
It does not matter if you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, any criminal arrest needs and deserves competent legal counsel from a top criminal domestic violence defense attorney. Retaining a Greenwich harassment lawyer to help you handle your case could end up being the most important decision you make when it comes to protecting your rights and preserving your best interests.
What Are the Degrees of Harassment Codified in State Law?
The majority of harassment cases pursued in Greenwich are prosecuted as harassment in the second degree. As defined by Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-183, this offense—a class C misdemeanor—involves a person intending to cause or actually causing “annoyance or alarm” to another person through some form of communication.
The alleged actions can occur via telephone, mail, computer network, or any other written form of communication. Depending on the circumstances, second-degree harassment charges may be filed based solely on the use of obscene language, or a provable intent to harass someone that does not result in a prolonged conversation, like calling and hanging up repeatedly.
Can Harassment Be Charged as a Felony?
In certain cases, harassment may be upgraded to a felony offense—specifically, if it involves a threat of physical harm or a death threat, and the alleged perpetrator has previously been convicted of certain felony offenses. As per C.G.S. §53a-182b, harassment in the first degree is classified as a class D felony. It carries heavier penalties than misdemeanor harassment and conviction will create a permanent felony record.
What Are the Potential Penalties for a Conviction?
The consequences a person in Connecticut may face if convicted of harassment vary significantly depending on the degree of the alleged offense. Since second-degree harassment is a class C misdemeanor, the maximum punishment a convicted individual may face is a three-month jail sentence and a $500 fine. On the other hand, a heightened harassment charge like first-degree harassment, may be punished by a prison sentence between one and five years in length, as well as a maximum fine of $5,000. In either situation you may also be put on a period of probation.
Can I Avoid Jail Time?
Often, the court may mandate that a person convicted of harassment undergo some form of psychiatric evaluation, a process which may include examination by multiple psychiatrists. If someone does not have a prior criminal record and has been charged with second-degree harassment, a dedicated harassment lawyer in Greenwich may be able to negotiate for probation, community service, or some other alternative sentencing arrangement to avoid fines and jail time. In some cases, you may be able to avoid conviction altogether. Unfortunately, there is no silver bullet to defending against these kinds of charges, but a skilled Greenwich defense lawyer could walk you through the options available to best suit you.
Seek Assistance from a Greenwich Harassment Attorney
If you want to effectively pursue a positive resolution to your case, the first step you take after being charged should be calling a Greenwich harassment lawyer. Get in touch with Mark Sherman Law today at 203-358-4700 to schedule a consultation and discuss your legal options. You can read what past clients have to say about working with us in our hundreds of certified Avvo.com reviews, then give us a call.