Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Milford Assault Lawyer

    If you are facing a criminal charge for assault, a Milford assault lawyer can help you prepare a defense or mitigate charges, depending on the unique aspects of your case. Reach out to a trusted domestic violence attorney today to protect your rights and prepare a legal defense.

    Is There More Than One Type of Assault?

    The Connecticut penal code defines three degrees of assault offenses, first-, second-, and third-. In addition, each of these degrees has certain variations that change the severity of the penalties. For instance, first-degree assault is a Class B felony under Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-59. There are also certain aggravating factors that heighten the severity of the offense, like an assault that causes a miscarriage, or an assault on an elderly person.

    In addition, the penal code also defines numerous types of sexual assault offenses. A Milford assault attorney can review the details of your alleged offenses and seek evidence to refute the elements of these offenses.

    Is Assault a Straight Forward Crime?

    As assault crimes are defined in the Connecticut penal code, you may commit assault without intending to harm or even touch another person. For example, third-degree assault occurs under C.G.S. §53a-61 when you intentionally injure another person, cause a serious injury by acting recklessly, or cause an injury through the negligent use of a deadly weapon. This means that if you injure someone unintentionally, you can still be guilty if it’s found that you acted recklessly.

    What are the Penalties for Assault?

    In a few instances, assault may be treated as a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Most assault offenses, however, are classified as felonies. When an assault is penalized as a Class D felony, the maximum sentence is five years of incarceration and a fine of up to $5,000. At the other end of the spectrum, the penalties for a Class A felony assault include up to 25 years in prison and a fine as high as $20,000. A Milford attorney can help those facing assault charges understand the penalties they are facing and the best way to mitigate or refute the charges.

    Contact a Milford Assault Attorney Immediately

    Avoiding an assault conviction on your record is of the utmost importance as it can interfere with employment, housing, and other opportunities for years to come. Accordingly, if you have been accused of assault, it is a good idea to talk to a Milford assault lawyer even if charges have not yet been filed. An attorney at Mark Sherman Law can start collecting evidence to build the strongest available defense and help you work toward a positive outcome. For a consultation with a top local lawyer, call today.