Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Milford Risk of Injury to a Minor Lawyer

    A Milford risk of injury to a minor lawyer can help you understand and protect your and your family’s rights. Call a top-rated and dedicated attorney today to begin working towards the optimal resolution of your case.

    Is Risk of Injury to a Minor the Same as Child Endangerment?

    Although people in Milford commonly use the term “child endangerment,” Connecticut laws refer to these offenses as “risk of injury to a minor”. Specifically, Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-21 describes three types of prohibited conduct that could endanger the physical or moral health of a child.

    The first action is a broad prohibition against placing a minor in a situation likely to result in harm. The second action prohibits sexual contact with a minor, and the third prohibits the “sale” of children via an improper transfer of custody.

    The statute is broad, and the first subsection can cover a variety of conduct. A top Milford risk of injury to a child lawyer can argue in your defense that your conduct did not fall within the purview of the statute.

    What Are Some Situations That Can Warrant a Charge?

    Situations that endanger the life, health, or morals of a minor under the age of 16 could be charged as Class C felonies. While this broad definition could apply to a vast number of circumstances, some of the more common examples include:

    • Driving recklessly while a minor is in the vehicle
    • Leaving a child unsupervised
    • Committing another crime while accompanied by a minor
    • Spanking or using other forms of physical discipline against a child

    What Are Some Examples of Risk of Injury?

    One clear prohibition concerns contact with the intimate body parts of a minor under the age of 16. Anyone who allegedly touches the intimate parts of a minor, or allows a minor to make contact the with intimate body parts of another minor, could face accusations of violating C.G.S. §53a-21(a)(2).

    This offense is classified as a Class B felony. The potential penalties include a prison term of up to 20 years and a potential fine of up to $15,000. If the minor involved is under the age of 13, a conviction includes a mandatory five-year minimum prison sentence.

    How Does This Offense Impact the Transfer of Custody?

    Finally, under §53a-21(a)(3) of the Connecticut penal code, an individual may not transfer permanent custody of a minor under the age of 16 to anyone else in exchange for money or any other commodity or service. The “sale” of a minor in this manner could lead to charges of risk of injury to a minor. This offense is considered a Class C felony with penalties that include a prison sentence of up to 10 years. In addition, courts may impose a fine of up to $10,000.

    Talk to a Milford Risk of Injury Attorney Today

    In addition to the serious statutory penalties connected with risk of injury offenses, the charge could result in a lengthy investigation by the Connecticut Department of Children and Families. Such investigations can be intrusive and embarrassing and may result in children being removed from the home.

    An experienced Milford risk of injury to a minor lawyer could explain the charges and ramifications, outline your legal options, and work to uncover and present evidence to the court. Reach out a dedicated attorney at Mark Sherman Law to learn more about your options today.