New Canaan Assault Lawyer
If you are facing assault charges in New Canaan, it is important to understand the ramifications. It is wise to consult an experienced New Canaan assault lawyer to learn your options for fighting the charges. A criminal defense lawyer who knows how New Canaan courts treat assault cases could help you protect your rights while you work toward a positive outcome.
What is Assault in New Canaan CT?
Assault is a term used to apply to a wide range of crimes, some of which are extremely serious felonies. In Connecticut, assaults involve one individual causing harm to another. The degree of the charge is dependent on the intent of the actor, the injury caused, and a number of aggravating factors (like if the victim was an elderly person).
Types of Assault Crimes
Beginning with Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-59, state law describes many different assault crimes.
There are three categories of assault:
- Assault in the First Degree: a Class A or B Felony.
- Assault in the Second Degree: a Class C or D Felony.
- Assault in the Third Degree: a Class A Misdemeanor.
A knowledgeable New Canaan assault lawyer could explain the law as it applies to the facts of your case and work to develop the best defense possible.
What are the Penalties for Assault?
The penalties for assault crimes are based on the classification of the offense as well as specific aggravating factors as described in the applicable statute. All classifications carry the risk of jail time, a fine, probation, or any combination of the same.
The least serious assault offense, Assault in the Third Degree is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year of imprisonment, a fine of up to $2,000.00, and/or up to one-year probation.
Assault in the Second Degree may be classified as a C or D Felony. A Class D Felony carries a maximum sentence of five years in prison, up to a $5,000.00 fine, and/or up to 3-years on probation. A Class C Felony carries anywhere from 1 to 10 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000.00, and/or a period of up to three years on probation.
Assault in the First Degree, the most serious of the offenses may be classified as a Class A or B Felony. A Class B Felony carries with it a term of 1-20 years in jail, a fine of up to $15,000.00, and/or a period of up to 5 years on probation. A Class A Felony carries with it 10-25 years in jail, up to a $20,000.00 fine, and/or up to five years on probation.
A New Canaan assault attorney could fight for the lowest applicable punishments or seek alternative sentencing arrangements whenever possible.
In addition, police often charge assault in connection with domestic violence cases. Domestic violence scenarios frequently lead to the imposition of protective orders, which can restrict contact with the alleged victim or even force you out of your home. If your assault charge is connected to a protective order, a top defense attorney could provide advice on complying with court orders and try to minimize their impact on your life.
Contact an Experienced New Canaan Assault Attorney
Assault can leave a damaging mark on your record, potentially interfering with employment, relationships, housing and other aspects of your life. If you were charged with assault, it is a good idea to learn all that you can about the charges, how to comply with requirements, and how to protect your rights.
A dedicated New Canaan assault lawyer could investigate and advocate on your behalf to minimize the negative consequences and help you move forward. To schedule a consultation, call Mark Sherman Law.