Contact Us
Case Evaluation
close

    Ridgefield Rape Lawyer

    An experienced Ridgefield rape lawyer could provide the assistance you need to pursue a positive resolution to this kind of accusation. In addition to representing your best interests in court, a skilled sex crimes attorney could also interact with law enforcement on your behalf and work to mitigate the impact this allegation has on your personal life as well.

    How Does State Law Classify Rape Offenses?

    The offense colloquially known as “rape” is defined as sexual assault in the first degree by Connecticut General Statutes §53a-70. According to this section of state law, any person who uses or threatens physical force in order to compel someone else into sexual intercourse may be charged with a class B felony, or an even more serious class A felony if the allegedly targeted individual is under 16 years old.

    Likewise, what most people think of as “statutory rape” is covered by Connecticut General Statutes §53a-71, which covers sexual assault in the second degree. This offense broadly applies to individuals who engage in sexual intercourse with someone who materially cannot consent to sex, either because of an intellectual impairment or disability, a power imbalance, or the fact that they are a minor. Second-degree sexual assault of a person under 16 is a class B felony offense. A Ridgefield rape attorney could help anyone charged under either statute understand their legal options.

    What Penalties Could a Rape Conviction Lead to?

    The primary differentiating factor when it comes to the sanctions a rape conviction could lead to is the age of the individual whom the defendant allegedly had sex with. Since statutory rape—in other words, second-degree sexual assault of a minor—is a class B felony, punishments upon conviction could include a $20,000 fine and between one and 20 years of imprisonment, nine months of which may not be suspended. To learn more about statutory rape defense, click here.

    First-degree sexual assault of an adult is also a class B felony, but the mandatory minimum sentence that a court must pass down upon conviction is ten years of imprisonment. All but two years of this sentence may be suspended if the alleged target was an adult. However, at least five years must be served if the alleged target was under 16, and at least 10 years must be served if the alleged target was under the age of 10.

    Certain aggravating circumstances—such as the involvement of multiple actors or the attempted or actual infliction of serious injury—may constitute aggravated sexual assault in the first degree, which may lead to more severe mandatory minimum prison sentences upon conviction. A Ridgefield rape attorney could go over what penalties a particular charge might result in during a private consultation.

    Seek Representation from a Ridgefield Rape Attorney

    As soon as you find out you are being investigated for a rape offense, you should seek out professional legal counsel and start working on your defense strategy. Click here to read certified client reviews at Avvo.com and see for yourself how a Ridgefield rape lawyer could be your most essential ally in your fight to preserve your future prospects.