Westport Breach of Peace Arrest Lawyer
If you were arrested for breach of the peace, you could be facing up to a year in jail, steep fines, and other consequences depending on how your offense is classified.
With representation from a seasoned Westport breach of peace arrest lawyer, you could have a much better chance of successfully contesting your charges and achieving a positive resolution to your case.
What is Breach of the Peace in Westport, Connecticut?
The Connecticut General Statutes define two separate variants of breach of the peace, one of which is a misdemeanor and one of which is a felony. According to Connecticut General Statutes §53a-181, second-degree breach of the peace is a class B misdemeanor that may entail a number of different actions, including:
- Publicly displaying or posting offensive material regarding another person
- Using profanity or obscene language to threaten or provoke another person
- Engaging in tumultuous and/or aggressive behavior in public
- Threatening to commit a crime that victimizes another person or their property
- Assaulting or physically hitting someone else
How Is Breach of Peace in The First-Degree Charged?
Breach of the peace in the first degree is narrowly defined and not commonly seen in Westport. Under C.G.S. §53a-180aa, this offense entails a person putting a facsimile of a bomb or other hazardous device in a public place with the intention of inconveniencing or alarming other members of the public. This is a class D felony offense which may be punished by between one and five years in state prison and a $5,000 fine.
How Is Breach of Peace in The Second-Degree Charged?
The more commonly charged degree of breach of peace, second degree, is broadly defined and often seen in relation to domestic violence disputes. If convicted of second-degree breach of the peace, a defendant may face up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. This version of breaching the peace is the one that Westport attorneys most commonly see associated with domestic violence arrests.
How Can Breach of Peace Be Considered a Domestic Violence Offense?
In addition to any criminal sanctions a breach of the peace charge may result in, defendants in Connecticut may face additional consequences if their offense is considered to be an act of domestic violence. Connecticut offenses may be classified as domestic violence if the alleged victim is a family member, relationship partner, or housemate of the alleged perpetrator.
Anyone accused of domestic violence in Connecticut may have a temporary protective order issued against them during their initial arraignment hearing. Less severe allegations may result only in a partial or limited order, while more severe offenses may prompt the court to issue a residential stay-away order or even a full no-contact order.
Other consequences associated with domestic violence offenses in Connecticut include investigation by the Connecticut Department of Children and Families. To learn more about DCF investigations, follow this link.
Talk to a Westport Breach of Peace Arrest Attorney Today
If you want to effectively pursue a positive outcome in your Westport breach of peace case, the help of a defense lawyer may be essential. Call today to schedule a meeting with an experienced legal professional and discuss what legal options may be available to you and follow this link to read why so many clients have been satisfied with the help of the lawyers at Mark Sherman Law.