When is it a Crime to Carry a Weapon in a Motor Vehicle in Connecticut?
Under Connecticut penal law (“C.G.S.”) § 29-38, it’s illegal for anyone to knowingly have a weapon in their car if the proper permits are not possessed and the weapon does not meet registration requirements.
What is Considered a “Weapon” for CT Weapon in Motor Vehicle Charges?
In addition to guns, pistols, machine guns, and other firearms, weapons include:
In addition, the statute covers “any other dangerous or deadly weapons or instruments” which means that the list above is not exhaustive.
Can I Go to Jail for Weapon in a Motor Vehicle Charges in CT?
Yes. C.G.S. § 29-38 is a Class D felony and carries the potential for up to 5 years in jail, a maximum $5,000 fine, and up to 3 years on probation.
In addition, you may be charged with other related crimes like carrying a pistol without a permit or threatening, which could heighten your jail, fine, and probation exposure.
How Do I Fight Connecticut Weapon in Motor Vehicle Charges?
Any top Connecticut defense lawyer can analyze the facts of your case and craft the best defense to get your case dismissed. If CT cops found the weapon during an illegal search of your car, or if the cops violated any of your other constitutional rights, then the evidence may be suppressed and deemed inadmissible in court.
Some of the best Connecticut criminal gun lawyers and attorneys may also be able to avoid trial altogether. Some lawyers may recommend pre-trial diversionary programs like accelerated rehabilitation (“AR”). Upon successful completion of this program, the charges will be dismissed and your arrest record will be erased and expunged.
Can I Apply for AR With a Weapon in a Motor Vehicle Charge?
Since it is only a D felony, you may be eligible for AR provided you have not used AR in the past 10 years or ever used AR before to get a felony dismissed. Any top Connecticut criminal defense lawyer will look at your case specifically to see if the court is likely to grant you AR.
Contact a Connecticut Weapon in a Motor Vehicle Lawyer Today
Don’t risk your record and your future. If you have been charged with carrying a weapon in a motor vehicle in Connecticut, contact any of the criminal lawyers at Mark Sherman Law today who can help work toward the best resolution in your case. Check out our 5-star reviews on the certified Avvo.com website from our prior Weapon in a Motor Vehicle clients and read more about the attorneys of Mark Sherman Law. Call us today at (203) 358-4700 to schedule a consultation.