Consequences of a Hit and Run in Connecticut
Whatever the reason for leaving the scene of an accident, the potential consequences of a hit and run in Connecticut are harsh. A criminal defense lawyer can be instrumental in raising a strong defense.
What is Hit and Run in Connecticut?
Connecticut General Statutes (“C.G.S.”) §14-224 refers to hit and run as “evading responsibility.” Essentially, if drivers cause an accident that results in any personal injuries or property damages, they must fulfill specific duties. These duties include immediately stopping at the accident scene; accurately identifying themselves to victims, witnesses, or police officers; and reporting accidents to law enforcement.
Even if drivers are involved in a single-car accident that results in property damage, they must comply with these requirements. In this case, drivers should stop, attempt to identify the owner of the damaged property, and give the owner the required identifying information. If they cannot locate the owner, they must report the accident to the police.
Is Evading Responsibility a Felony or a Misdemeanor in CT?
Evading responsibility can be either a felony or misdemeanor offense in Connecticut. Various factors impact the level of the criminal charge and the accompanying penalties, including:
- Whether property damage or injuries resulted, as well as their extent
- Whether death occurred as a result of the accident
- Previous convictions for evading responsibility
- Whether drivers were reckless or impaired by alcohol or drugs at the time of the crash
What are the Consequences for Misdemeanor Hit and Run?
If the accident causes only property damage, it is an unclassified misdemeanor. The maximum potential penalties are: 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $600. misdemeanor evading responsibility conviction also will result in a 90-day license suspension.
What are the Consequences of a Felony Evading Responsibility Conviction?
A hit and run could result in felony evading responsibility charges in three scenarios. If death or serious physical injury results from the accident, the maximum penalties are 20 years in jail, 2 of which are mandatory and cannot be suspended, and a $20,000 fine. If physical injury results from the accident, the maximum penalties are 5 years in jail and a $600 fine.
Under all three situations, your license will also be suspended pursuant to C.G.S. §14-111.
Beyond these consequences, Connecticut drivers convicted of felony hit and run are left with a permanent criminal record. Felony convictions can remove some civil rights, such as the right to possess firearms. A background with a felony conviction also can result in difficulties finding employment and housing.
Understanding the Connecticut Consequences of a Hit and Run
If law enforcement officials accuse you of evading responsibility, you may wish to consult legal counsel for advice right away. Otherwise, you risk suffering the severe penalties that can result from a criminal conviction. Check out our certified reviews on avvo.com today. For help minimizing the consequences of your Connecticut hit and run arrest, call Mark Sherman Law.