Connecticut Hit and Run Defense Strategies
Anyone arrested for a hit and run in Connecticut could benefit from a strong defense strategy. For help with your case, contact a top defense attorney.
What Happens After a Hit and Run in CT?
In many cases, drivers may not face an arrest for a hit and run accident until hours or even days following the crash. If any witnesses can identify the drivers who caused the accident, including the injured parties, then police may be able to locate these drivers. Surveillance footage from nearby parking lots and businesses can also provide identifying information that leads the police straight to the drivers accused of committing the hit and run.
When facing arrest on charges of evading responsibility, individuals should contact a Connecticut criminal defense attorney right away to determine the best defense strategies for their case.
What are Some Potential Defense Strategies in Hit and Run Cases?
In hit and run accidents that cause only minor property damage or injuries, early intervention by an experienced criminal defense lawyer can be vital to a favorable outcome. For instance, with the assistance of legal counsel, individuals may be able to quickly smooth things over, pay for repair bills, and avoid criminal charges altogether. While this strategy is not effective in every case, it may be an option.
Alternatively, legal counsel can gather mitigating information to show the prosecutor in an attempt to lessen penalties. Skilled criminal defense attorneys can argue to have your charge substituted for the infraction “failure to stop and show” under C.G.S. §14-217.
Developing effective strategies for hit and run defense in Connecticut can be crucial to avoiding harsh penalties and a highly damaging criminal record. In some situations, evading responsibility is a felony offense, which carries the potential for incarceration and hefty fines.
What are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in CT?
The level of the charge and resulting penalties depends on the severity of any bodily injury and property damage. Under Connecticut General Statutes (“C.G.S.”) §14-224, if individuals leave the scene of an accident that results in death or serious physical injuries to others, they can face felony charges. The penalties for a felony hit and run offense can include a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years, a $20,000 fine, or both.
If the hit and run offense involves bodily injury, it is still a felony, but penalties include a sentence of up to five years in jail and a fine of $75 to $600. For crimes involving property damage only, the charge is an unclassified misdemeanor and the maximum jail sentence is one year and the fine ranges from $75 to $600. Other penalties for hit and run convictions include suspension of driving privileges.
Develop Defense Strategies for Your Connecticut Hit and Run Case
Defending against criminal charges is not an easy task, and charges of hit and run or evading responsibility are no exception. Rather than risking significant fines and periods of incarceration by proceeding on your own, consider developing a strong hit and run defense strategy with the help of a Connecticut attorney.
By getting the legal guidance that you need, you could increase your chance of a satisfactory resolution to your case. Check out our certified reviews on avvo.com, and call Mark Sherman Law today to set up a consultation.