Can I Go to Jail for a Connecticut Second Offender DUI Arrest?
- A Connecticut Second Offender DUI is a felony.
- A “second offender” DUI means this is likely a third arrest for a DUI and carries mandatory jail time.
- Out of state DUI arrests can affect how you will be treated in Connecticut.
- If you are arrested for a Connecticut Second Time Offender DUI, call one of the best Connecticut criminal defense attorneys today.
What is the Definition of DUI in Connecticut?
Connecticut General Statute (C.GS.) § 14-227a officially names a DUI as “Operation While Under The Influence Of Liquor Or Drug Or While Having An Elevated Blood Alcohol Content.” You commit a DUI by driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug or while having an elevated blood alcohol content.
What is Elevated Blood Content in Connecticut?
Elevated blood content (also known as BAC) in Connecticut is .08%. You can be arrested for a DUI if you are driving a typical motor vehicle with a BAC of .08% or higher. If you are driving a commercial motor vehicle, the limit is .04%.
Is It Worth Fighting A DUI?
Absolutely. You should never just agree to plead guilty to any crime that you are charged with without seeing the evidence against you, evaluating your case, and consulting with a top Connecticut DUI attorney.
Should I Get A Lawyer For My Second DUI?
Yes as soon as possible. The best Connecticut DUI lawyers will tell you, getting a lawyer to fight your second DUI is often the most important decision you can make. Your top DUI attorney can evaluate your case for weaknesses and strengths, hire expert witnesses, and work to get you the best outcome possible.
Is a Second DUI a Felony In Connecticut?
Yes, and it includes mandatory jail time.
Will a DUI From Another State Affect My Case?
Yes. Depending on how your case resolved in that other state, Connecticut may treat you like you already have a DUI conviction on your record. This could cause Connecticut to significantly increase the mandatory jail time you are facing.
How Long Do You Go To Jail For a 2nd DUI?
You can go to jail for up to two years. In addition, your license will be suspended, you will have to install an ignition interlock device, and you will have to complete 100 hours of community service.
Can You Avoid Jail Time For Second DUI In Connecticut?
Not likely, but you may be able to avoid part of it. A second offender DUI in Connecticut is a felony that carries up to 2 years of jail time, 120 days of which are mandatory minimum. However, the best Connecticut second time DUI lawyers will fight for you to be treated as a first-time offender, which will substantially lower your mandatory jail time and prevent you from having a felony record. For more information on first time DUI arrests, click here.
Contact a top Connecticut Second Time DUI Defense Attorney Today
Don’t underestimate your DUI charges. There is serious jail time on the line. Get one of the best Connecticut second time DUI defense lawyers on your side. Read our hundreds of reviews from past clients on Avvo.com. Then call our Mark Sherman Law defense team today at (203) 358-4700.