Benefits of a Darien Hit and Run Attorney
Were you charged with evading responsibility in the operation of a motor vehicle? You could benefit from the services of a Darien hit and run attorney.
How Can a Top Hit and Run Lawyer Help?
The benefits of a Darien hit and run lawyer include advice and advocacy right from the start. An experienced attorney can help you understand your rights and how to avoid making a statement that could be used against you later. In addition, a defense lawyer could collect and preserve evidence to build a strong defense. Because the consequences of a conviction can have such a negative impact, many drivers find legal representation to be a solid investment in a hit and run case.
What Does the Prosecution Have to Prove in a Hit and Run Case?
When an individual is accused of committing an offense, the prosecution must prove all elements of that offense. Evasion of responsibility in operation of a motor vehicle is defined in Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §14-224. This statute requires drivers to take certain actions when they are “knowingly” involved in an accident that causes injury or damage to another person’s property in Connecticut.
A Darien hit and run lawyer may be able to demonstrate that a driver was unaware of involvement in an accident, or that the driver did not know that any injuries or property damage had occurred. It may also be possible to argue that a driver was unable to stop immediately but tried to comply with notification requirements. A top defense lawyer can explore all available avenues of defense, both factual and procedural.
What are the Penalties for Evading Responsibility in CT?
Drivers convicted of evading responsibility may be sentenced to imprisonment as well as a fine. The length of the sentence and the amount of the fine will depend on the outcome of the hit and run incident.
If death or serious physical injuries result, then the offense is treated as an unclassified felony with the potential for up to 20 years in prison and a fine of $20,000. When there is an injury, but it is not considered “serious” under the definition in C.G.S. §53a-3, then the driver can be imprisoned for up to five years. An experienced attorney may be able to demonstrate that injuries in a hit and run case do not qualify as serious under the definition.
If the hit and run causes only property damage, the charge is an unclassified misdemeanor. The driver can be fined up to $600 for a first offense and may be imprisoned for up to a year. Subsequent offenses will increase the potential fine.
More Benefits of a Darien Hit and Run Attorney
To learn more about the benefits a Darien hit and run attorney can provide in your situation, meet with a top criminal defense attorney. To set up a consultation, call Mark Sherman Law.