Greenwich Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Most people in Greenwich have heard that possession of marijuana has been decriminalized in Connecticut. However, that isn’t completely true. You may still be charged with a crime for possessing marijuana depending on how much you have and what you do with it. Regardless, possessing even a small amount can leave you with an infraction record that follows you throughout your life. Because of this, it may be a good idea to consult a Greenwich marijuana possession lawyer. A criminal attorney with experience in drug possession cases could explain the relevant Connecticut law and figure out the best strategy for fighting marijuana charges.
How Much Cannabis Can I Possess in CT?
Under C.G.S. § 21a-279a, if you are in possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana, you will only be charged with an infraction, which is not a crime. It is also an infraction under C.G.S. § 21-267(d) to have any device that could be used to smoke, package, or prepare your marijuana. That includes things like grinders, vape pens, bowls, and bongs.
What are the Penalties for a Marijuana Infraction?
If you are given a ticket for a marijuana infraction under either section, you will have to pay a fine of $150 for your first ticket, and up to $500 for your second or subsequent marijuana ticket. In addition, if you are convicted of a marijuana infraction a third time, you will have to participate in a drug education program at your own expense. The program classes cost an additional $650 and will require you to go to 15 weekly classes to satisfy the requirement.
C.G.S. § 21a-279 makes possession of one-half ounce of marijuana or more a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail, and a fine of up to $2,000. If you possess that amount within one thousand five hundred feet of a school or public housing, then you will be required to serve at least one day in prison and be ordered to mandatory community service as part of probation.
Felony Possession with Intent to Distribute
Yes. Under C.G.S. § 21a-278, you are guilty of a felony if you have more than one kilogram of marijuana and there is evidence that you intend to sell it. The penalty for a first offense under this statute is very serious: a minimum of five years in prison, and up to twenty years.
Consult a Greenwich Marijuana Possession Attorney Today
Though many Greenwich residents brush off marijuana offenses as inconsequential, any drug conviction could have a lasting impact on your life. A drug infraction could become public record and be visible to potential employers, landlords, lenders, and even friends and family.
Consequently, if you are facing marijuana possession charges, it may be beneficial to consult with a knowledgeable Greenwich marijuana possession lawyer. An experienced attorney could help ensure you understand your legal rights and options, provide insight into potential defenses strategies, and help determine how to proceed with your case.